Skip to Main Content

2023 Residents, Fellows Honored at Annual Commencement Ceremonies

July 19, 2023

The Yale Department of Psychiatry honored its 2023 class of residents and fellows, as well as faculty and staff, at its annual commencement ceremonies last month.

The Residency Commencement Ceremony was held on June 15 at the New Haven Lawn Club. The Fellowship Commencement Ceremony was held virtually over Zoom on June 16. The events marked the graduation of 23 residents and 22 fellows.

The honorees included the following residents: AZA Allsop, MD, PhD; Eliseo Barajas, MD; Jessica Burris, MD; Amanda Calhoun, MD; Eliza DeCroce-Movson, MD; Oby Ekwueme, MD; Claire Gibson, MD; Terrell Holloway, MD; Moayad Kabli, MD; Murad Khan, MD; Jihoon Kim, MD; Elizabeth Meller, MD; Ashley Moreno, MD; Chidinma Okani, MD; Sean Patterson, MD; William Prueitt, MD; Andrew Sheldon, MD; Vahideh Tabarzadi, MD; Ahmed Tahseen, MD; Enock Teefe, MD; Daniel Tylee, MD, PhD; Olivetta Uradu, MD; Yvonne Uyanwune, MD.

Fellows honored were:

Addiction Psychiatry Fellowship

Muhammad Aadil, MD; Suneel Agerwala, MD; Selina Akhter, MD; Ebony Caldwell, MD; Connie Hsaio, MD; Kevin Ing, MD; Destiny Pegram, MD; Roberto Sanchez, DO; Shram Shukla, MD; Jeremy Weleff, DO

Consultation-Liaison Fellowship

Hassaan Gomaa, MD; Zachary Harvanek, MD; Aniruddha Deka, MD; Gregory Nikogosyan, DO

Forensic Psychiatry Fellowship

Ignacio Cerdena, MD; Sarah Helland, MD; Ashley Malka, MD; Lekan Olaolu, MD; Angeline Pham, MD

Geriatric Psychiatry Fellowship

Kripa Balaram, MD; Shriya Kaneriya, MD; Kamolika Roy, MD


Stephen Fleck Award

Charles Dike: Awarded to a faculty member (s) who demonstrates the highest standards of a clinician and educator, following in the footsteps of the late Dr. Stephen Fleck, a long-time member of the Yale faculty who served as a shining example of a clinician-scholar who insisted on giving the highest priority to patient care and teaching.

Chairman’s Award

Amber Childs: The Chairman's Award is given to a junior, full-time faculty member who has excelled in the department's goals of enriching knowledge, transmitting understanding and providing excellence in the delivery of care.

Frank G. Fortunati Award

Richard Belitsky: The Department of Psychiatry established this award to celebrate the memory of Dr. Frank Fortunati, so that others may be inspired to follow his example. Until his untimely death at the age of 58, after a long battle against illness, Dr. Fortunati served as Deputy Chair for the Yale-New Haven Health System for the Yale Department of Psychiatry and Vice Chief of Psychiatry and Behavioral Health. In these roles, Frank distinguished himself for his selfless devotion to his colleagues, trainees, staff, and patients. His commitment to the Department and its mission were remarkable. This award will recognize a faculty member who, through their own efforts, best exemplify the highest standard for commitment to others in the service of the Department’s mission.

Outstanding Clinical Faculty Award

Bonnie Becker: The recipient for this award is chosen from the voluntary (clinical) faculty and has demonstrated an ongoing commitment to the department, on a completely voluntary basis. The areas of service include, but are not limited to, teaching, supervision, and committee work.

Resident Teaching Award

Jessica Burris and Julio Nunes: The Resident Teaching Award is given in memory of our former resident and colleague, Dr. James Longhurst. It acknowledges and recognizes the contribution of a Yale Psychiatry Resident as an outstanding teacher and role model. The residents are nominated for this award by students, peers, and faculty.

Ira Levine Award

Terrance Embry and Victoria Lewis: The Ira Levine Award was established in 2004 to recognize outstanding PGY-2 psychiatry residents who best embody the qualities of clinical excellence, breadth of learning, and devotion to the care of severe psychiatric illness exemplified by Dr. Levine.

PRA Teaching Award

Dale Sebastian: This award acknowledges the outstanding contribution of one or more attending physicians to the education and development of the residents.

PRA Benjamin S. Bunney Award

Oby Ekwueme: The Benjamin S. Bunney Award is awarded annually to a resident who has demonstrated exceptional service to the Psychiatry Residents’ Association (PRA) mission of advocacy for residents and patients, clinical care, and education.

PRA Award for Outstanding Supportive Service

Jaeyeon Lee: This award goes to an outstanding nurse, social worker, or other support staff.

PRA Resident Diversity Award: Taiwo Alonge

PRA Faculty Diversity Award: Eunice Yuen

2023 Individual Staff Awards: Ashley Clayton, Jennifer Dolan-Auten, Victoria D'Agostino.

2023 Team Staff Awards: Scott Brewer, Louis DeAngelo, Michael Gossett

Submitted by Jordan Sisson on July 18, 2023