Skip to Main Content

Lab Members

  • Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute

    Sterling Professor of Immunobiology and Professor of Dermatology and of Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology and of Epidemiology (Microbial Diseases); Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute

    Akiko Iwasaki, Ph.D., is a Sterling Professor of Immunobiology and Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology at Yale University, and an Investigator of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute. She received her Ph.D. from the University of Toronto in Canada and her postdoctoral training from the National Institutes of Health. Her research focuses on the mechanisms of immune defense against viruses at the mucosal surfaces, and the development of mucosal vaccine strategies. She is the co-Lead Investigator of the Yale COVID-19 Recovery Study, which aims to determine the changes in the immune response of people with long COVID after vaccination. Dr. Iwasaki also leads multiple other studies to interrogate the pathobiology of long COVID, both in patients, and through developing animal models of long COVID. Dr. Iwasaki was elected to the National Academy of Sciences in 2018, to the National Academy of Medicine in 2019, to the European Molecular Biology Organization in 2021, and to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 2021.

Former Lab Members

Audry Chan Takeshi Ichinohe, Ph.D.
M.P.H. student 2000-2002 Postdoctoral fellow 2007-2010
audrey.chan@yale.edu ichinohe@ims.u-tokyo.ac.jp
Gladys Ng Heung Kyu Lee
M.P.H. student 2001-2003 Immunology Ph.D. Candidate 2005-2009
ngg@mail.amc.edu heungkyu.lee@kaist.ac.kr
Xinyan Zhao, Ph.D. Melodie Zamora
Postdoc 2000-2003 Research Assistant2005-2008
xinyan_zhao@yahoo.com melodie.zamora@yale.edu
Kelly Soderberg, Ph.D. Charron Cote
Graduate Student 2001-2005 Administrative Assistant 2006-2011
kelly_soderberg@yahoo.com
Ayuko Sato, Ph.D. Michal Tal
Postdoc 2002-2006 Graduate Student 2007-2012
ayukosato@hotmail.com mikstars@gmail.com
Jennifer Lund, Ph.D. Brian Yordy
Graduate Student 2002-2006 Graduate Student 2007-2012
jmlund@u.washington.edu Brian.yordy@yale.edu
Hong Shen, Ph.D. Lisa Mattei
Postdoc 2005-2006 Graduate Student 2007-2012
hs24@u.washington.edu Lisa.mattei@yale.edu
Balaji Ramanathan, Ph.D. Iris Pang
Postdoc 2006 Graduate Student 2009-2012
balaji@upei.ca iris.pang@yale.edu
Yusuke Nakanishi, Ph.D. Miwa Sasai
Postdoctoral fellow 2006-2009 Postdoctoral fellow 2007-2012
y-naka.bre@mri.tmd.ac.jp m-sasai@biken.osaka-u.ac.jp
Kayo Sagawa, Ph.D. Joseph M. Thompson, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Associate 2006-2009 Postdoctoral Associate 2007-2009
kayo.sagawa@yale.edu joseph.thompson@yale.edu
James Storer Susan Fink, MD, PhD
Graduate Student 2012-2013 Postdoctoral fellow 2012-2016
storera21@gmail.com sfink@uw.edu
William Khoury-Hanold Padmini Pillai
Graduate Student 2011-2016 Graduate student 2011-2016
william.khoury-hanold@yale.edu padmini@gmail.com
Ellen Foxman Asu Erden
Postdoctoral Fellow 2010–2017 Graduate Student 2012-2017
Ellen.foxman@yale.edu asuerden@gmail.com
Kachiko Hayashi Ryan Molony
Graduate Student 2011–2017 Graduate Student 2012-2018
Kachiko.yahashi@yale.edu ryan.molony@yale.edu
Laura Yockey
Graduate Student 2015–2018
laura.yockey@yale.edu