Skip to Main Content

Lab Members

Principal Investigator

Research Assistants & Associates

  • MD/PhD Student

    Andrew (Drew) Daniels is an MD/PhD student at Yale School of Medicine. Prior to attending medical school Drew graduated from The Johns Hopkins University with a BA in Neuroscience. There, he completed research in both immunology, studying the systemic immunosuppression associated with brain tumors; and neuroscience, studying the neural circuitry underlying higher order visual processing using advanced imaging techniques. During medical school Dr. Daniels built on his passion for immunology and immuno-oncology and earned his PhD under the co-mentorship of Dr. Marcus Bosenberg and Dr. Akiko Iwasaki. His thesis research focused on anti-tumor immunologic memory responses. He investigated critical T cell subsets for memory responses, transcriptional and epigenetic changes that defined these cells, therapeutic strategies to enhance this population, and adoptive cell therapy as a potential treatment modality. Dr. Daniels maintains a broad interest in tumor immunology and strategies to enhance long-term anti-tumor responses. His clinical interest include head and neck cancers, immunotherapies in these settings, and adoptive cell therapies, and he is applying to otolaryngology residency programs this year.
  • Instructor (Clinical)

    Research Interests
    • Connective Tissue Diseases
    • Dermatomyositis
    • Lupus Erythematosus, Cutaneous
    • Lupus Erythematosus, Discoid
    • Vasculitis
    • Panniculitis, Lupus Erythematosus
    Dr. Gehlhausen is a dermatologist and physician-scientist in Dr. Iwasaki's lab working on autoimmune connective tissue diseases affecting the skin, including lupus erythematosus. His focus is on how type I interferons, which are essential innate antiviral pathways, mediate the pathophysiology of lupus disease. Though the association of type I interferons and lupus has been well established, the precise mechanism of how and which cell types mediate pathologic changes remains incompletely understood. Dr. Gehlhausen has a connective tissue disease clinic where he sees complex autoimmune cases and utilizes high dimensional techniques like single cell rna sequencing to profile the skin manifestations of these patients. Additionally, he makes heavy use of genetic mouse models of try to better understand the cellular and molecular effectors driving type I interferon-mediated disease.
  • MD/PhD Student

    I grew up in Southern California and graduated from USC. I spent a few years doing computational cancer genomics research which eventually led me to the interface of genomics and tumor immunology. I am currently interested in the intersection of cancer biology, immunology, and machine learning to improve and/or develop novel therapies for cancer patients. Outside of research and medicine, I spend my time playing soccer on the club team here at Yale, playing pick-up basketball with classmates, and eating (probably too many) chocolate chip cookies.
  • MD/PhD Student

    I graduated from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) with a double major in Biological Engineering and Brain & Cognitive Sciences. In the past, I studied infant social cognition using functional near-infrared spectroscopy in the Saxe Lab at MIT. At the Mayo Clinic, I led a protein engineering project working with tissue inhibitor of metalloproteinases-1 (TIMP-1) to alter the inhibitory profile toward cancer biomarkers, matrix metalloproteinases (MMPs). Moving forward, I will continue to pursue cancer research, specifically tumor immunology, immunotherapy, and neuro-immunology. Fun fact: I was invited to train at the United States Olympic Training Center in Colorado Springs, CO for volleyball!
  • MD/PhD Student

    Research Interests
    • DNA Virus Infections
    • Sexually Transmitted Diseases
    • Coronavirus
    • Encephalitis, Viral
    • Central Nervous System Viral Diseases
    Jon originally hails from California and attended University of California, Davis completing degrees in Biochemistry and Molecular Biology with a minor in Neuroscience. After graduation, Jon worked for several years at University of California, San Francisco working in the laboratory of Dr. Leor Weinberger before accepting a position in the MD/PhD program at the Yale School of Medicine. Jon is currently conducting his PhD research in SARS-CoV-2 pathogenesis in the laboratory of Dr. Akiko Iwasaki.
  • PhD Student

    Research Interests
    • Arboviruses
    • RNA Viruses
    • Zoonoses
    • Coronavirus
    • Flaviviridae
    Mario graduated from Universidad Autónoma de Nuevo León in Mexico with a major in Genomics and Molecular Biology. He worked with distinct viruses such as Measles, HIV, Zika, and Chikungunya under the mentorships of Dr. Laura Trejo-Ávila, Dr. Ana Rivas-Estilla, Dr. Stephen P. Goff, and Dr. Manuel Llano. After graduation, he worked as a Postgraduate Associate in the laboratory of Dr. Brett Lindenbach investigating the molecular replication of flaviviruses, using Yellow Fever virus as a model. Mario is currently working on his Ph.D. dissertation project under the mentorship of Dr. Akiko Iwasaki and Dr. Craig Wilen. He is studying the impact of human and bat innate antiviral responses in pathogenesis and pandemic potential of bat coronaviruses.
  • Hospital Resident

    Eric Song received his undergraduate training at University of Southern California in biochemistry. After graduating, he joined Justin Hanes' lab as a master's student studying how to better design nanoparticles to deliver genes and drugs into the brain. After a post-bacc in Mark Saltzman's lab at Yale expanding his skillset as a biomedical engineer, he entered the Yale Medical Scientist Training Program for his MD and PhD degrees. For his PhD he worked with Akiko Iwasaki to answer questions regarding why immune responses in the brain are different than the rest of the body. Eric continues to perform research in trying to understand and manipulate immune responses in immune privileged tissues to help design new therapies for diseases without cures.

Former Lab Members

Former Postdocs

Philipp Alberts

Susan Fink, MD, PhD
Postdoctoral fellow 2012-2016

Ellen Foxman
Postdoctoral Fellow 2010–2017

Benjamin Goldman-Israelow, MD/PhD

Smita Gopinath

Takeshi Ichinohe, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral fellow 2007-2010

Norifumi Iijima

Xiaodong Jiang

Kellie Jurado

Myoungjoo Kim

Eriko Kudo

Yosuke Kumamoto

Alex Lipovsky

Carolina Lucas

Yusuke Nakanishi, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral fellow 2006-2009

Jieun Oh

Balaji Ramanathan, Ph.D.
Postdoc 2006

Kayo Sagawa, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Associate 2006-2009

Miwa Sasai
Postdoctoral fellow 2007-2012

Ayuko Sato, Ph.D.
Postdoc 2002-2006

Hong Shen, Ph.D.
Postdoc 2005-2006

Haina Shin

Weily Soong

Kenichi Takano

Manabu Taura

Jody Thompson

Joseph M. Thompson, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Associate 2007-2009

Maria Tokuyama

Shumpei Yamauchi

Xinyan Zhao, Ph.D.
Postdoc 2000-2003

Former Students

Rachel Bian

Audry Chan
M.P.H. student 2000-2002

Vincenzo DiNatale

Asu Erden
Graduate Student 2012-2017

Kachiko Hayashi
Graduate Student 2011–2017

Annie Hoang

Ulyssess Isidro

Teshika Jayewickreme

William Khoury-Hanold
Graduate Student 2011-2016

Daniel Kim

Gloria Lee

Heung Kyu Lee
Immunology Ph.D. Candidate 2005-2009

Alice Lu-Culligan

Jennifer Lund, Ph.D.
Graduate Student 2002-2006

Renata McKay

Lisa Mattei
Graduate Student 2007-2012

Leila Mendonca

Pietro Miozzo

Ryan Molony
Graduate Student 2015–2018

Gladys Ng
M.P.H. student 2001-2003

Iris Pang
Graduate Student 2009-2012

Padmini Pillai
Graduate Student 2011-2016

Tasfia Rakib

Stephanie Sellers

Kelly Soderberg, Ph.D.
Graduate Student 2001-2005

Alex Storer
Graduate Student 2012-2013

Michal Tal
Graduate Student 2007-2012

Rebecca Treger

Arvind Venkataraman

Patrick Wong

Yexin Yang

Laura Yockey
Graduate Student 2012-2018

Brian Yordy
Graduate Student 2007-2012