Skip to Main Content



DICE supports, celebrates, and encourages informative discourse about the differences among our YSM community members; in regard to inclusion, our ultimate goal is to build an inclusive climate that supports and promotes the retention of trainees from diverse backgrounds. To accomplish this, we work to not only respond to student feedback, but also routinely incorporate trainee input into the creation of such an inclusive climate:

Frequently Asked Questions

The Peter Grannum Prize

Established in 1990, awarded to an outstanding African-American graduate, this annual award is supported by The Shirley, Maggie, and Hugh Comer Fund

2017 Adesuwa Ighodaro Akhetuamhen

2016 Cortlyn Brown

2015 Amanda Rose Wallace

2014 Theresa Lynn Williamson

2013 Kenneth E. Ike

2012 Cicely Ann Williams

2012 Rachele Patrice (Cross) Yarborough

2011 Chikezie Eseonu

2011 Kolawole Anthony Jedgede

2010 David Eric Myles

2009 Jonathan Alexander Bernard

2009 Alicia Velean Lee

2008 Louvonnia Rose Boone

2008 Greg Nelson

2007 Anika Nina Watson

2006 Odicie Okeda Feilder

2006 Hyman Scott

2005 Nya A. Jones

2005 Marine Marie Solages

2004 Bryan Sandor Kennedy

2003 Jason Robert Baynes

2002 Nataki C. Douglas

2001 Carl V. Crawford

2000 Leslie R. Boyd

1999 Obinwanne F. Ugwonali

1999 Sherri D. Sandifer

1999 Camille M. Hylton

1998 Sydney C. Butts

1998 Merle A. Carter

1998 Olivia I. Okereke

1997 Adetokunbo A Oyelese

1997 Rachel Villanueva

1996 Duane A. Bryan

1996 Andrea T. Jeffress

1996 Timothy S. Johnson

1995 Yamilee O. Bermingham

1994 Tina Marie Harris

1994 Victoria Lynne Holloway

1991 Cargill H. Alleyne

The Courtlandt Van Renesselaer Creed Award

Established in 1999 in hour of Cortlandt Van Rensselaer Creed, the first African-American graduate of Yale School of Medicine in 1857. Awarded through Peer nomination to graduating underrepresented, minority students in medicine and public health, who have demonstrated outstanding academic achievement, exemplary leadership, and a significant commitment to the community at large.

2017 Giullo C. Rottaro Castejon

2016 Amanda Lynn Hernandez

2016 Tara Holder

2015 Jon Santiago

2014 Charisse Laura Mandimika

2013 Dionne Marie Rudison

2012 Olatokunbo Musili Famakinwa

2012 Odayme Quesada

2011 Lionel Sennacherib McIntosh

2011 Rajendra Fernando Sawh-Martinez

2010 Hasani Kigos Baharanyi

2010 Tracy St. Louis MacIntosh

2009 Sara Whetstone

2008 Claudia Patricia Castiblanco Munoz

2007 Karen Serena Morris-Priester

2006 Jane AWuramma Gwira

2005 Damini Arnold Piggott

2004 Rina Reyes-Garcia

2003 Kevin Marice Johnson

2002 Kebba M. Jobarteh

2001 LaLisa A. Anderson

2001 Stephanie A. Boykin

2000 Dirk C. Johnson

1999 Richard X. Lyn-Cook