Skip to Main Content


A central focus of the Division of Law and Psychiatry is the Fellowship in Forensic Psychiatry, accredited through ACGME. Scholarship and research are hallmarks of Law and Psychiatry at Yale. The division also provides educational programs for medical student clerkships, basic psychiatry residents, psychology interns and state forensic professionals.

Forensic Psychiatry Fellowship

Continuing Education

Yale Law and Psychiatry faculty and trainees are devoted to advancing education for learners of all professional disciplines and stages of career. They routinely present workshops, lectures, and trainings throughout Connecticut, including mental health training for police officers, violence risk management training for clinicians, legislative advocacy workshops, lectures on social determinants of mental health, and firearms-related trainings.

In addition to these trainings, the Division holds special events, often in conjunction with the Department of Psychiatry, Yale Law School, and Yale Child Study Center. Recent conferences include:

  1. International Association for Forensic Psychotherapy
  2. Refugee Mental Health
  3. Conference on Incels
  4. Rebellious Psychiatry: Where Mental Health Meets Social Justice

Yochelson Lectures

The annual Yochelson Visiting Professorship and the Dr. Samuel and Kathryn Yochelson Lecture provide a unique opportunity to celebrate the forensic psychiatry program and promote scholarship in the field. The professorship and lecture are funded through an endowment by the Yochelson family almost four decades ago. Dr. Yochelson was a Yale-educated psychologist and psychiatrist, best known as the senior author of The Criminal Personality (Yochelson and Samenow, 1976). Through the professorship, a distinguished scholar in forensic psychiatry spends a week giving lectures and seminars in the Division and throughout Connecticut.

As of 2023, the Division had hosted 27 visiting scholars including:

  • Bernard Diamond MD
  • Alan Stone MD
  • Alan Dershowitz JD
  • Paul Appelbaum MD
  • Lauren Roth MD, Darrel Regier MD, MPH, Peter Reddaway MA, and Richard Bonnie JD
  • John Monahan PhD
  • Joseph Bloom MD
  • Robert Simon MD
  • Pamela Taylor MD
  • Roy O’Shaughnessy MD
  • Jeffrey Metzner MD
  • Robert Hare PhD
  • Robert Phillips MD, PhD
  • Thomas Gutheil MD
  • Gwynnyth Adshead MD
  • Douglas Mossman MD
  • Reid Meloy PhD
  • Phillip Resnick MD
  • Renée Binder MD
  • Peter Ash MD
  • John Bradford MBChB
  • Raymond Patterson MD
  • Deborah Pinals MD
  • Patricia Recupero MD, JD