2016 Kavli Prizes

The Kavli Prizes

The Kavli Prizes recognize scientists around the world in the fields of astrophysics, nanoscience and neuroscience. Established in 2008, the Kavli Prizes are presented in cooperation with the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, the Norwegian Ministry of Education and Research, and the Norwegian Ministry of Foreign Affairs. The prizes are awarded at a ceremony in Oslo, Norway, followed by a symposium honoring the laureates. Learn more

2016 Kavli Prizes

Nine pioneering scientists from Germany, Switzerland, the UK and the USA have been named this year’s recipients of the Kavli Prizes – prizes that recognize scientists for their seminal advances in astrophysics, nanoscience and neuroscience. 

This year’s laureates were selected for the direct detection of gravitational waves, the invention and realization of atomic force microscopy, and for the discovery of mechanisms that allow experience and neural activity to remodel brain function.

The Kavli Prize in Astrophysics goes to Ronald W.P. Drever, Kip S. Thorne and Rainer Weiss. Gerd Binnig, Christoph Gerber and Calvin Quate share the Kavli Prize in Nanoscience. The Kavli Prize in Neuroscience goes to Eve Marder, Michael Merzenich and Carla Shatz.

Read the full press release

The 2016 Kavli Prize laureate announcements were webcast live from Oslo, with special Kavli Prize programming from the World Science Festival in New York. 

Watch the webcast

Kavli Prize Program included:

  • Announcement of the 2016 Kavli Prize Laureates by the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, hosted by scientist and science writer Adam Rutherford. Presented by Ole M. Sejerstedm, President of the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, with remarks by the Kavli Prize Committee Chairs;
  • Keynote Address by Dr France Córdova, Director of the National Science Foundation (U.S.);
  • Panel discussion about the Prizes led by ABC news journalist Richard Besser, with:
    • Astrophysics - Nergis Mavalvala (Massachusetts Institute of Technology);
    • Nanoscience - Michal Lipson (Columbia University); and,
    • Neuroscience – Cori Bargmann (2012 Kavli Prize Laureate in Neuroscience, The Rockefeller University).

The Kavli Prize in Neuroscience

The Kavli Prize in Neuroscience is awarded for outstanding achievement in advancing our knowledge and understanding of the brain and nervous system, including molecular neuroscience, cellular neuroscience, systems neuroscience, neurogenetics, developmental neuroscience, cognitive neuroscience, computational neuroscience and related facets of the brain and nervous system.

The Kavli Prize in Neuroscience has twice been awarded to Yale University researchers: