Skip to Main Content


Dennis D. Spencer Award in Academic Achievement

Dr. Dennis Spencer, Director, Epilepsy Program

The Neurological Surgery Primary examination is a critical step toward American Board of Neurological Surgery Certification and is a requirement for the completion of residency at Yale and all other neurosurgery programs in the U.S.

The Department expects all residents to take the ABNS Primary Exam, beginning in PGY-1, for assessment until they pass for credit. It is expected that PGY-4 level residents take and pass the Primary Exam for credit. Residents are not allowed to take the Exam for Credit until after they pass it during the time they take it for assessment. If a resident does not meet these goals, promotion and continuation in the program are in jeopardy.

The Dennis D. Spencer Award in Academic Achievement is presented to the resident(s) who achieved the highest primary exam board score at the annual Change of Chiefs dinner.

Past Awardees

Year Awardee
2021 Adam J. Kundishora
2017 Jacky Yeung
Dennis D. Spencer Award in Academic Achievement in Neurosurgery 2017 winner Dr. Jacky Yeung