Skip to Main Content

Yale Medical Oncology and Hematology Graduating Fellows Honored

June 01, 2016

Yale Medical Oncology and Hematology graduating fellows were honored with a dinner at Union League Café hosted by Drs. Roy Herbst, Madhav Dhodapkar, Jill Lacy, Nikolai Podoltsev, and Michael Hurwitz. Dr. Noffar Bar, Dr. Tae Kon Kim, and Dr. Carolyn Presley each received a Research Awardrecognizing their outstanding work. Also, Dr. Sarah Mougalian and Dr. Terri Parker were presented with the 2016 David S. Fischer Teaching Awards for Outstanding Faculty Teaching and Mentoring of Fellow in Medical Oncology.

Miguel F. Sanmamed, MD, PhD has been awarded the 2016 SITC-AstraZeneca Cancer Immunotherapy Clinical Fellowship in Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer (NSCLC) for his project entitled, "Identifying primary and acquired resistance mechanism to PD-1/PD-L1 pathway blockade in non-small cell lung cancer patients using immune-patient-derived xenograft model."

Valentina Greco, PhD, has been awarded the American Society for Cell Biology Early Career Life Scientist Award. The award supports an outstanding cell biologist who has served as an independent investigator for no more than seven years.

Lisa Shomsky, MBA, RN, CNML has been appointed as the inaugural Clinical Program Director, Smilow at Bridgeport.

Roy S. Herbst, MD, PhD, Associate Director for Translational Research and Chief of Medical Oncology presented on The Master Protocol in Oncology: Lessons Learned, at the National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute workshop on Enhancing Treatments for Pulmonary Vascular Diseases.

Submitted by Beth Cadugan on July 26, 2016