Skip to Main Content

Latest News

Voluntary Faculty Contributions to Department of Internal Medicine

Over the past five years, the number of voluntary faculty within the Department of Internal Medicine has increased to 445 members. Led by Adam Mayerson, MD, FACE, associate chief, Community & Voluntary Faculty, this group teaches in both inpatient and outpatient settings at various sites throughout the state including Yale New Haven, Greenwich, Bridgeport, Griffin, Waterbury, St. Mary’s, Norwalk, Middlesex, and Danbury hospitals.

Read more

Kasia Lipska to Co-Develop QBSafe Protocol

Congratulations to Kasia Lipska, who's just received an R21 grant from NIA for a collaborative project with colleagues at the Mayo Clinic. The study is focused on older, complex adults with type 2 diabetes who often experience challenges in self-management, high treatment burden, and frequent adverse events, such as hypoglycemia. To address these challenges, Dr. Lipska’s team will build a stakeholder working-group to co-develop the QBSafe protocol of care, focused on maximizing Quality of life, optimizing the Burden of treatment, and improving treatment Safety. They then propose to test QBSafe in a single-arm two-site feasibility study to estimate the acceptability and efficacy of this intervention in clinical practice.

Endocrinology Grand Rounds

With a few exceptions, Endocrinology Grand Rounds are scheduled on Fridays, from 12 p.m. - 2 p.m.

2019-2020 guest speakers include:

Dr. Laura Nally, Yale Pedi Endo - 9/6/19
Dr. Marc L. Reitman, NIH/NIDDK - 9/13/19
Dr. Walter Kernan, Yale School of Medicine - 9/27/19
Dr. Tariq Ahmad (Yale Cardiology) - 10/11/19
Dr. Kevan Herold, Yale School of Medicine - 10/18/19
Sherwin Symposium - 10/25/19
Dr. Mone Zaidi, Mount Sinai Health System - 11/8/19
Dr. Andrew Stewart, Icahn School of Medicine, Mount Sinai (Broadus Lecture)- 11/15/19
Dr. Gregory Steinberg, McMaster University - 12/13/19
Dr. Xiaoyong Yang, Yale - 1/17/20
Dr. Kenneth Cusi, University of Florida - 1/31/20
Dr. Hannele Yki Jarvinen, University of Helsinki - 2/21/20
Dr. Marcelo Dietrich, Yale Neuroscience - 2/28/20
Dr. Joan Neuner, University of Wisconsin - 4/24/20