Winslow Medal

In 2015, in recognition of our 100th year as a leader in public health education, research and practice, the Yale School of Public Health will recognize three leading innovators with the Winslow Medal. The medal commemorates the outstanding contributions of Charles-Edward Amory Winslow, the founder of our School, and many would say the founder of modern public health in the United States. The recipients' work exemplifies C.-E.A. Winslow's ideals, especially his concern for the social factors affecting health as well as outstanding achievement in public health leadership, scholarship, or contribution to society. 

Centennial recipients:

  • Anthony Fauci, MD, Director National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases
  • Sir Michael Marmot, MBBS, MPH, PhD, Professor of Epidemiology and Public Health, University College London
  • Judith Rodin, PhD, President of The Rockefeller Foundation

Winslow Addresses


The Yale School of Public Health’s official centennial logo.