Skip to Main Content

Center for Research and Engagement

The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF) Clinical Scholars Program has been the foundation of community-engaged research at Yale for almost 30 years. This program provides education for the next generation of investigators conducting high-impact community-engaged research. In 2016, this program will transition into the National Clinician Scholars Program (NCSP), a joint collaboration with UCLA and the Universities of Michigan and Pennsylvania that will be incorporated into the Center for Research and Engagement.

NCSP will educate both physicians and postdoctoral nurses to become leaders and innovators in health care, community health, and public policy. Yale’s NCSP Scholars will be selected nationally, with the first class entering the two-year program in July 2016.

Like the RWJF program, the NCSP program, will facilitate the collaboration of community organizations with trainees to design and implement research projects on topics identified as priorities by the New Haven community. It will also provide a framework for multidisciplinary initiatives and models of engagement and will disseminate successful strategies geared to building a healthier New Haven, improving care delivery systems, and implementing impactful health policy.

The NCSP program will also assist community-based stakeholder organizations, working in partnership with a Yale researcher or team, by assessing their readiness and capacity for research engagement and then providing consultation and resources to address challenges. A parallel approach will build on existing IT platforms such as Yale’s enterprise-wide data-rich electronic health record and incorporate community data initiatives to bolster data dissemination, sharing, and implementation among diverse stakeholders.

YCCI Deputy Director Marcella Nunez-Smith, MD, MHS, will lead the new center, partnering with Cary Gross, MD, director of NCSP, who will focus on trainee education.

Steering Committee Members

  • Natasha Ray, MS, Co-Chair
  • Marcella Nunez-Smith, MD, MHS, Co-Chair
  • Mark Abraham, Executive Director, DataHaven
  • Anne Camp, MD, Clinician, Fair Haven Community Health Center
  • Ann Greene, Community Research Liaison, Yale Clinical Scholars Program
  • Marcia Hunt, PhD, Deputy Director, Northeast Program Evaluation Center, West Haven Veterans Administration
  • Joanne McGloin, M.Div., MBA, Associate Director, Yale Program on Aging
  • Susan Nappi, MPH, Director of Evaluation, United Way of Greater New Haven
  • Marjorie Rosenthal, MD, Assistant Director, Yale Clinical Scholars Program
  • Alycia Santilli, MSW, Director of Community Initiatives, CARE, Yale School of Public Health
  • Jerry Smart, Community Health Worker, Transitions Clinic
  • Amos Smith, MSW, President, CEO, Community Action Agency of New Haven
  • Barbara Tinney, MSW, Executive Director, New Haven Family Alliance
  • Stephen Updegrove, MD, MPH, Pediatrician
  • Pina Violano, MSPH, RN-BC, CCRN, CPS-T, PhD, Injury Prevention Coordinator, Injury Free Coalition for Kids
  • Emily Wang, MD, Co-Director for Community Research, Yale Clinical Scholars Program
  • Maurice Williams, Community Liaison Coordinator, YCCI