Skip to Main Content

Christopher Tien, PhD, DABR

Assistant Professor; Assistant Professor, Therapeutic Radiology

Contact Information

Christopher Tien, PhD, DABR


Dr. Christopher Tien is a board-certified therapeutic medical physicist in the department of Therapeutic Radiology and has been the primary brachytherapy physicist at Yale-New Haven Hospital since 2016. Dr. Tien also regularly assists with Gamma Knife radiosurgery. In addition to his clinical involvement, his research focuses on brachytherapy (gynecological, prostate, ocular, and skin) applications, radiobiological modeling, and radiosurgery.

Prior to arriving in New Haven, Dr. Tien completed his residency at Brown University/ Rhode Island Hospital after receiving his PhD when he was 25 years old from the University of Florida, which he attended on a full fellowship. After residency, he practiced at a community hospital in suburban Chicago for 3 years.

Nationally, Dr. Tien is a full member of the American Brachytherapy Society, the American Association of Physicists in Medicine, American Society for Radiation Oncology, and Yale Cancer Center. Regionally, he is a member of the Connecticut Area Medical Physics Society, where he was President for 2018-2019.

Education & Training

  • PhD
    University of Florida, Medical Physics (2011)
  • MS
    University of Michigan, Nuclear Engineering and Radiological Sciences (2008)
  • BS
    University of Michigan, Nuclear Engineering and Radiological Sciences (2007)
  • Resident
    Brown University

Honors & Recognition

AwardAwarding OrganizationDate
Editor's Recognition Award as Outstanding ReviewerBrachytherapy (Journal award)2019
Judith Stitt AwardAmerican Brachytherapy Society2018

Professional Service

Yale Cancer CenterFull member, 2018-present2018 - Present
American Brachytherapy SocietyFull member, 2017-present2017 - Present
Connecticut Area Medical Physics Society, AAPMMember, 2016-present. Board member, 2017-2020. President, 2018-2019.2016 - Present
American Society of Radiation OncologyAssociate member, 2013-2018. Full member, 2018-present2013 - Present
American Association of Physicists in Medicine (AAPM)Student member, 2007-2011. Junior member, 2011-2014. Full member, 2014-present.2007 - Present

Departments & Organizations