Skip to Main Content


Resident Committees

The Surgical Resident Advisory Council (SRAC) is comprised of one member from each PGY level elected by peers. The group is chaired by the PGY-5 member of the council and faculty are present only when invited by the council. The group is charged with collecting the concerns of the residents and collaborating with the administrative leadership in a shared governance model. This council’s function is bidirectional, and will be charged with feeding back information to the residency so that the results of their recommendations will be easily known to the group at large. In addition, there are 5 committees, listed below, which serve to organize and empower the residents to create change within their stated domain.

Resident Committees
Committee Name Chair Name
Thriving in Residency Chair: Matthew Fleming
Scholarship and Research Chair: Alex Chiu
Recruitment, Inclusion, Diversity and Equity Chair: Raymond Jean
Leadership and Mentorship Chair: Mike DeWane
Health Equity, Advocacy and Social Responsibility Chair: Sarah Ullrich