Skip to Main Content

Eight psychiatry trainees to participate in CSMS Young Physician Leadership Curriculum

November 22, 2017

Eight trainees in the Yale Department of Psychiatry Residency Program have been accepted into the Connecticut State Medical Society’s Young Physician Leadership Curriculum.

The program provides young physicians with tools to help them develop leadership and physician advocacy skills. It is designed to enhance the physicians’ abilities to influence practice and policy development on a local, regional, and national level.

Participants in the program from Yale are residents Lilanthi Balasuriya, MD, MMS; Flavia De Souza, MD, MHS; Falisha Gilman, MD; Nikhil Gupta, MBBS; Luming Li, MD; Nora Proops, MD; Erica Robinson, MD; and Kunmi Sobowale, MD.

The residents will attend a series of workshops on topics like developing effective leadership and networking skills, organizational behavior, negotiation skills, executive decision making, emotional intelligence, and healthcare finance. They will complete independent learning projects and present them to their colleagues.

The Connecticut State Medical Society is a state affiliate of the American Medical Association. Its membership exceeds 7,000 physicians across Connecticut.

Submitted by Christopher Gardner on November 22, 2017