Skip to Main Content


Contributions of Past Fellows

Each year psychiatrists enter the fellowship new to the field of forensics and complete the program as beginning experts in the field. Since the program began, 55 psychiatrists will have completed the forensic fellowship as of the end of the 2006-07 academic year.

The graduates have contributed to the field of forensic psychiatry in many ways. Most have become active in the American Academy of Psychiatry and the Law (AAPL), the major organization of the subspecialty. Four of our faculty and fellows have been elected president of the academy: Zonana, Ezra Griffith, Roy O’Shaughnessy, and Robert Phillips. Others have served as elected officers and councilors, and a number have become training directors and faculty of forensic psychiatry programs around the country.

The contributions of the fellows and the faculty have established the Yale fellowship as one of the premier programs in the country attracting psychiatrists from across the United States and Canada. The philosophy, values, and contributions of the Yale program have shaped and defined the field of forensic psychiatry. That influence has come largely through the success of the forensic fellowship program.