Skip to Main Content

Thomas Steitz, PhD

Sterling Professor of Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry and Professor of Chemistry; Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute

Contact Information

Thomas Steitz, PhD

Mailing Address

  • Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry

    PO Box 208114, 266 Whitney Avenue

    New Haven, CT, 06520-8114

    United States

Thomas Steitz
DownloadHi-Res Photo



Prof. Thomas Steitz received a B.A. degree in chemistry from Lawrence College in Appleton, Wisconsin, and a Ph.D. degree in molecular biology and biochemistry from Harvard, with William Lipscomb. After a postdoctoral year at Harvard, he moved to the Medical Research Council Laboratory of Molecular Biology in Cambridge, England, to work as a Jane Coffin Childs fellow with David Blow. He next joined the Yale faculty, where he remained, except for sabbatical work with Klaus Weber in Göttingen, Germany; Aaron Klug at Cambridge; John Abelson at the California Institute of Technology; and Thomas Cech and Olke Uhlenbeck at the University of Colorado. He received the 2009 Nobel Prize in Chemistry, the Pfizer Prize from the American Chemical Society, the Lewis S. Rosenstiel Award for distinguished work in basic medical sciences, the 2001 Newcomb Cleveland Prize from the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the Lawrence University Lucia R. Briggs Distinguished Achievement Award, the 2006 Keio Medical Science Prize, and the 2007 Gairdner International Award. Dr. Steitz was a member of the National Academy of Sciences and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. He had been elected a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

Education & Training

  • PhD
    Harvard University (1966)
  • BA
    Lawrence College (1962)
  • Jane Coffin Childs Postdoctoral Fellow
    Cambridge, England
  • Postdoctoral Fellow
    Harvard University

Honors & Recognition

AwardAwarding OrganizationDate
Nobel Prize in ChemistryThe Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences2009
George E. Palade Award2008
Gairdner International AwardThe Gairdner Foundation2007
Keio Medical Science PrizeKeio University, Tokyo, Japan2006
Frank H. Westheimer MedalHarvard University2004
Lucia R. Briggs Distinguished Achievement AwardLawrence University2002
AAAS Newcomb Cleveland PrizeAmerican Association for the Advancement of Science2001
Rosenstiel Award for Distinguished Work in Basic Medical SciencesRosenstiel Basic Medical Sciences Research Center at Brandeis University2001
Sterling Professor of Molecular Biophysics and BiochemistryYale University2001
Honorary D.Sc.Lawrence University1981
Pfizer Award in Enzyme ChemistryAmerican Chemical Society (ACS)1980

Professional Service

National Academy of SciencesMember1990 - Present
American Academy of Arts and SciencesFellow1990 - Present
The Howard Hughes Medical InstituteResearcher1986 - Present
Caltech1984 - 1985
Göttengen, GermanyFellow1976 - 1977
American Academy of MicrobiologyFellow

Departments & Organizations