Skip to Main Content

Nominations Requested For 2022 Dostanic Award

December 01, 2021
by Julie Parry

Yale’s Department of Internal Medicine established an annual physician-scientist trainee award in memory of Iva Dostanic, MD, PhD, whose intelligence, creativity, work ethic, accomplishments, and passion for the science of medicine exemplified the highest ideals of the physician-scientist.

We are seeking nominations for the 2022 Iva Dostanic, MD, PhD, Physician-Scientist Trainee Award and Lecture. The recipient will present the Iva Dostanic Award Lecture at Medical Grand Rounds on June 23, 2022.

Nomination Deadline

Friday, January 28, 2022

Eligibility and Selection Criteria

Nominees should meet the following eligibility and selection criteria:

  1. Physician-scientist with MD or MD-PhD
  2. Completion of residency training in internal medicine either at Yale or another institution.
  3. Current position as a mentored research trainee with appointment as Postdoctoral Fellow, Postdoctoral Associate, Associate Research Scientist or Instructor in one of the sections of the Department of Medicine.
  4. Accomplishments in original research evidenced by peer-reviewed papers published or in press.
  5. Commitment to research reflected by applications for fellowship grants and/or career development awards.
  6. Availability to present the Iva Dostanic Award Lecture on June 23, 2022.

Nomination Process

We encourage nominations of mentored trainees with outstanding potential for careers as physician-scientists. The following nomination materials should be sent by email to Dostanic Award Committee Chair Peter Aronson with a copy to Nancy Kravitz:

  1. Single one-page nomination letter jointly signed by the nominee’s section chief and primary mentor.
  2. Annotated curriculum vitae of the nominee. For key publications, provide brief descriptions of the role of the nominee and the significance of the work.

Past Dostanic Awardees with Titles of Award Lectures

2012: Iva Dostanic, MD, PhD, Pulmonary, Critical Care, and Sleep Medicine, “Emerging Roles for Innate Immunity in Lung and Endothelium” (presented by Patty Lee)

2013: Isaac Hall, MD, MS, Nephrology, “Donor Kidney Quality and Acute Kidney Injury with Transplantation”

2014: Daniel Jane-Wit, MD/PhD, Cardiovascular Medicine, "Translational Approaches for Studying Cardiac Allograft Vasculopathy"

2015: Jose Herazo-Maya, MD, Pulmonary, Critical Care, and Sleep Medicine, “Predicting Outcome in IPF: The Dawn of Genomic Biomarkers”

2016: Lauren Ferrante, MD, MHS, Pulmonary, Critical Care, and Sleep Medicine, “Improving Post-ICU Outcomes: A Call to Action”

2017: Sarah Huen, MD, PhD, Nephrology, “Acute Kidney Injury: Not All That is Inflammatory is Pathologic"

2018: Stephen Baldassarri, MD, MHS, Pulmonary, Critical Care, and Sleep Medicine, “Electronic Cigarettes: The End of Smoking or a Deadly New Addiction?”

2019: Shelli Farhadian, MD, PhD, Infectious Diseases, “Neuroinflammation During Chronic HIV Infection”

2020: Rupak Datta, MD/PhD, MPH, Infectious Diseases, “Antibiotic Stewardship to Promote Palliative Care in Older Adults Near the End of Life”

2021: Ana Luisa Perdigoto, MD, PhD, Endocrinology & Metabolism, “Clinical and Preclinical Insights into the Mechanisms of Checkpoint Inhibitor-induced Diabetes”

Contact for Additional Information

Peter S. Aronson, MD

Chair, Iva Dostanic Award Committee

Department of Internal Medicine

PO Box 208029

New Haven, CT 06520-8029

The Department of Internal Medicine at Yale is among the nation's premier departments, bringing together an elite cadre of clinicians, investigators and educators in one of the world's top medical schools. To learn more, visit Internal Medicine.

Submitted by Julie Parry on December 01, 2021