Skip to Main Content

Sanchez, Rege, and Hu Honored with Teaching Awards

December 14, 2021
by Elisabeth Reitman

The 2021 winners of the Dr. Peggy Bia Award for Outstanding Clinical Teaching were announced at Medical Grand Rounds. Residents and fellows dedicated to excellent clinical teaching were nominated and voted upon by current clerkship medical students at the Yale School of Medicine.

“The award was established six years ago at the request of clerkship students who were consistently impressed by the skill and dedication of residents and fellows who taught them during their inpatient IM clerkship. Dr. Peggy Bia was a long time and beloved educator who, among other things, ran the clinical skills course for many years and the students wanted to honor that legacy by naming this teaching award after her,” said Dana W. Dunne, MD, MHS, director of Internal Medicine Clerkship and associate chair for Education & Academic Affairs.

This year’s winners are:

  • PGY-1 winner: Andrew Sanchez, MD (Hospital Resident)
  • PGY-2/3 winner: Nischay Rege, MD, PhD (Hospital Resident)
  • Clinical Fellow winner: Jiun-Ruey Hu, MD, MPH (Cardiovascular Medicine Fellow)

Past winners include:

  • May 2017: Valerie Vassor, MD and Pranay Sinha, MD
  • December 2017: Jana Christian, MD and Avromi Kanal, MD
  • December 2019: Thejal Srikumar, MD, Green Chung, MD and Michael Fury, MD

To learn more about the Department of Internal Medicine’s Clerkship program, visit Medical Approach to the Patient (MAP) - Internal Medicine Component Clerkship.

Submitted by Elisabeth Reitman on December 14, 2021