Skip to Main Content

The Leah Lowenstein Award Recipients

The Leah Lowenstein Award is presented annually at graduation to the faculty member who, by promoting humane and egalitarian medical education, most clearly sets the example for students entering the field of medicine. The recipient's teaching style and personal wisdom provide a model for the principle of professional excellence and equal opportunity espoused by the late Leah Lowenstein, M.D.

Recipients of the Leah Lowenstein Award

Shanta Kapadia, M.D. 1986
Harriet Wolfe, M.D. 1986
Ken Barwick, M.D. 1986
Barbara Kinder, M.D. 1987
Laura Ment, MD 1988
Joy Hirsch, Ph.D. 1989
Anne McBride Curtis, M.D. 1990
Linda Bartoshuk, Ph.D. 1991
Michele Barry, M.D. 1992
Barbara Ward, M.D. 1993
Coralie Shaw, M.D. 1994
Margaret J. Bia, M.D. 1995
Barbara Ward, M.D. 1996
Janet B. Henrich, M.D. 1997
Ronnie A. Rosenthal, M.D. 1998
Shanta Kapadia, M.D. 1999
Robert H. Gifford, M.D. 2000
Lynn Tanoue, M.D. 2000
Gail D’Onofrio, M.D. 2001
Marie E. Egan, M.D. 2002
Susan M. Richman, M.D. 2003
Eve R. Colson, M.D. 2004
Catherine Chiles, M.D. 2005
Nancy R. Angoff, M.P.H., M.Ed. 2006
Karen A. Santucci, M.D. 2007
Vincent J. Quagliarello, M.D. 2007
Andrés S. Martin, M.D., M.P.H. 2008
Nina R. Horowitz, M.D. 2008
Laura Ment, M.D. 2009
Benjamine R. Doolittle, M.D., MDiv. 2010
Jessica L. Illuzzi, M.D. 2010
Marcella Nunez-Smith, M.D., M.H.S. 2011
Mark R. Mercurio, M.D. 2012
Andrea B. Asnes, M.D. 2013
Margaret J. Bia, M.D. 2014
Mark B. Russi, MD, MPH 2016
Susan Kashaf, M.D., M.P.H. 2017
Alfred Lee, M.D., Ph.D. 2017
Karen Jubanyik, M.D. 2018