Skip to Main Content

2024 Ob/Gyn Research and Graduation Day

July 01, 2024

It was a busy day during Yale Ob/Gyn's C. Lee Buxton Research Day on June 13.

After a welcome from department Chair Hugh Taylor, MD, the presentations and keynote began.

The 20th Annual Nathan Kase lecturer was Vivian Sung, MD, MPH, presenting on “Engaging Patients and Communities in Research."

Chief resident talks made up the first scientific session:

  • Zoe Athens, MD, "Preventing Safety Events in Cesarean Scar Pregnancy: A Multidisciplinary Team Approach"
  • Xiomara Brioso Rubio, MD, "Abnormal Uterine Bleeding in Anticoagulated Patients by Drug Class: Outcomes and Management"
  • Rachel DeSpenza, MD, "Antiphospholipid Antibodies Induce a Type I and Type III Interferon Response in Human First Trimester Trophoblast Cells"
  • Ecem Esencan, MD, "Abnormal Placentation in ART Pregnancies: Prevalence and Predictors"
  • Julia Gelissen, MD, "Factors Associated with Completion of Genetic Testing in Patients Recently Diagnosed with Epithelial Ovarian Cancer"
  • Bertie Geng, MD, "Absence of Adverse Maternal and Neonatal Outcomes in Patients with 1 or 2 Abnormal Values During Early Glucose Tolerance Testing"
  • Ayomipo Madein, MD, "The Early COVID-19 Pandemic Period and Associated Gestational Weight Gain"
  • Melissa Markowitz, MD, "Body Mass Index and Surgical Diagnosis of Endometriosis: Do Obese Patients Experience an Operative Delay?"
  • Elisabeth Stark, MD, "Intrapartum Nipple Stimulation Therapy for Labor Induction: A Randomized Controlled External Pilot Study of Acceptability and Feasibility"

Awards were presented to:

  • APGO Humanism in Teaching Award: France Galerneau, MD
  • APGO Excellence in Teaching Award: Iman Berrahou, MD
  • The Society for Academic Specialists in General Obstetrics and Gynecology: Sona Jasani, MD
  • Lee Buxton Faculty Teaching Award for Medical Student Education: Scott Casper, MD, MHS
  • The Harold Behrman Award: Nina Stachenfeld, PhD
  • The Patricia Johnson Award: Jaime Kramer, MS
  • The Joel Silidker Award: James Curley
  • The CREOG National Faculty Award: Olga Grechukhina, MD
  • Gynecology Surgical Teaching Award: Nancy Ringel, MD, MS
  • The Debbie Cibelli Award: Kiersten Rooney
  • José Asis Memorial Award: Lena Sweeney, MD
  • Stanley Lavietes Award: Richard Moscarelli, MD
  • Nathan Kase Award: Audrey Merriam, MD, MS
  • ASCCP Resident Award: Anabel Starosta, MD
  • Society of Gynecologic Oncology Award: Emily Chang, MD
  • The Joel Silidker Award: Ecem Esencan, MD
  • The Society for Reproductive Endocrinology and Infertility Award: Ecem Esencan, MD
  • Society of Laparoscopic & Robotic Surgeons: Ayomipo Madein, MD
  • Resident Quality and Safety Award: Xiomara Brioso Rubio, MD, and Bertie Geng, MD
  • The Ryan Program Resident Award: Melissa Markowitz, MD
  • Society of Maternal-Fetal Medicine Residency Award: Rachel DeSpenza, MD
  • 2024 Award for Excellence in Female Pelvic Medicine and Reconstructive Surgery: Rebecca Borneman, MD
  • AAGL Resident Award: Rebecca Borneman, MD
  • Pediatric and Adolescent Gynecology Outstanding Resident Award: Hannah Cunningham, MD
  • Society for Academic Specialist in General Obstetrics and Gynecology Resident Award: Hannah Cunningham, MD
  • Resident Teaching Award:
    • PGY1, Aliah Fonteh, MD
    • PGY2, Akailah Mason-Otey, MD
    • PGY3, Emily Chang, MD
    • PGY4, Elisabeth Stark, MD
  • Peter Grannum Award: Melissa Markowitz, MD
  • Meehan Miller Award: Rachel DeSpenza, MD
  • 2nd Year Teaching Award: Abdelrahman AlAshqar, MD
  • Irving Friedman Award: Zoe Athens, MD, and Julia Gelissen, MD

The second scientific session featured presentations by fellows:

  • Reproductive Endocrine and Infertility Fellow Caiyun Liao, MD, MPH, "Human Specific Epigenomic States in Spermatogenesis"
  • Gynecologic Oncology Fellow Levent Mutlu, MD, "In Vivo and In Vitro Efficacy of Trastuzumab Deruxtecan in Uterine Serous Carcinoma"
  • Maternal-Fetal Medicine Fellow Hillary Hosier, MD, "Association Between Isolated Abnormal 1-hour Glucose Challenge Test and Adverse Pregnancy Outcomes"
  • Maternal-Fetal Medicine Fellow Jia Jennifer Ding, MD, "A Pilot Study Using Continuous Glucose Monitoring Among Patients With a Low 1-hour Glucose Challenge Test Result Versus Controls to Detect Maternal Hypoglycemia"
  • Urogynecology & Reconstructive Pelvic Surgery Fellow Brad St. Martin, MD, MPH, "Nationwide Cost of Pelvic Organ Prolapse Surgery in the United States"

The 2024 C. Lee Buxton Research Day ended with a graduation banquet where research fellows and graduating residents were recognized and celebrated.

Submitted by Saul Asiel Flores on July 01, 2024