Skip to Main Content

David G. Schatz, PhD

Waldemar Von Zedtwitz Professor of Immunobiology and Professor of Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry; Chair, Immunobiology

Contact Information

David G. Schatz, PhD

Lab Location

Office Location

Mailing Address

  • Immunobiology

    PO Box 208011, 300 Cedar Street

    New Haven, CT 06520-8011

    United States



Dr. Schatz has made fundamental contributions to our understanding of the mechanisms that assemble and diversify antigen receptor genes that encode antibodies and T cell receptors.  He is best known for the discovery of RAG1 and RAG2, subsequent biochemical insights into RAG function and evolutionary origins, and the discovery of two distinct levels of regulation of somatic hypermutation.

Schatz has co-authored over 180 articles, many in prestigious journals, and has been the recipient of numerous prizes and awards, including the Rhodes Scholarship, the Snow Prize (Yale University's top award to a graduating senior), the National Science Foundation Presidential Faculty Fellows Award, the American Association of Immunologists-BD Biosciences Investigator Award, the Paul Ehrlich and Ludwig Darmstaedter Prize, and election to the National Academy of Sciences and National Academy of Medicine. He has been active as an editor and reviewer, serving as Co-Editor of the journal Immunity, as a member of the editorial board of a number of journals, and as a member and Chair of the NIH study section Cellular and Molecular Immunology-A.  Schatz has also been very interested in graduate education, serving for many years as the Director of Graduate Studies and Graduate Admissions for Immunobiology and as a member of the Executive Committee of the Biological and Biomedical Sciences (BBS) Program.  He remains strongly committed to enhancing predoctoral and postdoctoral training programs in his current role as Chair of the Department of Immunobiology.

Schatz received B.S. and M.S. degrees in Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry from Yale University in 1980, and a M.A. degree in Philosophy and Politics from Oxford University in 1982. His Ph.D. degree (1990) and postdoctoral training were done with Dr. David Baltimore at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and the Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research.

Education & Training

  • Postdoctoral Fellow
    Whitehead Institute and MIT (1991)
  • PhD
    Massachusetts Institute of Technology (1990)
  • BA
    Oxford University, Philosophy and Politics (1982)
  • BS
    Yale University, Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry (1980)

Honors & Recognition

AwardAwarding OrganizationDate
2023 Paul Ehrlich and Ludwig Darmstaedter PrizePaul Ehrlich Foundation2022
Elected to the National Academy of Medicine2019
Elected to the National Academy of Sciences2018
Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science2016
Member, American Academy of Arts and Sciences2014
MERIT Award, NIAID, NIHNational Institutes of Health2007
AAI-BD Biosciences Investigator AwardAmerican Association of Immunology2004
National Science Foundation Presidential Faculty Fellows AwardNational Science Foundation1994
Rhodes Scholarship1980
Snow Prize, Yale University's top overall award to a graduating studentYale University1980

Professional Service

Immunology Advisory Board for Landmarks service, Faculty OpinionsFaculty Opinions Section Head and Member of Immunology Advisory Board for Landmarks service2021 - Present
External Advisory Committee, Gerstner-Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center Graduate School of Biomedical SciencesExternal Advisory Committee, Gerstner-Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences2020 - Present
MD-PhD Faculty CommitteeMember2009 - 2012
Chair, NIH Study Section CMI-AMember2008 - 2010
Biological Sciences Advisory CommitteeMember2004 - 2007
Tenure Advisory Committee for the Biological SciencesMember2004 - 2007
Regular member, NIH Study Section CMI-AMember2004 - 2006
Medical School Tenure Slot CommitteeMember1999 - 2001
BBS Executive CommitteeMember1998 - 2008

Departments & Organizations