Skip to Main Content


Hold fast to ideals and integrity, public health students urged

Yale Medicine Magazine, 1999 - Summer


At a time of great and varied challenges to public health, Michael H. Merson, M.D., dean of public health, urged the Class of 1999 to hold fast to its courage and principles.

“When you accept your diplomas today,” he told the 118 graduates, “I ask you to remember that you have a new responsibility in public health. Class of 1999, be proud to be entering a profession that has accomplished so much for our nation.”

Merson offered his comments in place of Margaret A. Hamburg, M.D., Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation at the federal Department of Health and Human Services. Heavy rains and fog on Commencement Day made it impossible for her flight from Washington to land in New Haven.

Student speaker Cari Jo Clark told her classmates upon graduation they were no longer peers, but colleagues. “We are now a complex network of health professionals who will most likely benefit from knowing each other,” she said. “The very nature of public health has brought us into contact with interesting, inspiring and dedicated people.”

James Jekel, M.D., M.P.H. ’65, Charles Edward A. Winslow Professor Emeritus and Lecturer in Public Health, received the Award of Excellence in Teaching. As he came forward to accept the award he brandished an oversized hourglass, a gift from students poking fun at his tendency to time student presentations with an egg timer.


Award for Excellence in Teaching:
James Jekel, M.D., M.P.H.


Wilbur G. Downs International Travel Fellowships:
Ibilola Abike Fashoyin
Rajesh Gupta
George Levon Melikian
Timothy Myshrall
Nicole C. Rabidou
James A. Hamilton Scholarships:
Natasha Devi Goburdhun
Anthony Jerome Giovanni Pacheco
Kathleen Hara Howe Scholarship:
Audra Nicole Boscoe
Mary Florence Ricciuti
Merit Scholarships:
Stacey Rebecca Grill
Sofia S. Kennedy
Richard H. Schlesinger Fellowships:
Kathleen Anne Harris
Anthony Jerome Giovanni Pacheco
Sarah Helen Stanton
John Devereaux Thompson Scholarships:
Scott Christopher Durbin
Katharine Ellen Witgert
E. Richard Weinerman Fellowships:
Magdalena Cerda
Cari Jo Clark
April Celeste Cohen
Christina Y. Kim
Kristin Mattocks
Pamela S. Nelson
Thomas Horton Riess