Skip to Main Content

Distinguished company

Yale Medicine Magazine, 2003 - Winter


Founding members of the new Society of Distinguished Teachers gathered for a reception on September 24 in the Beaumont Room. More than 60 members attended, all recipients of major teaching honors such as the Bohmfalk Prize, the Francis Gilman Blake Award, the Leah M. Lowenstein Prize, the Healthcare Foundation of New Jersey Humanism in Medicine Faculty Award and the Betsy Winters House Staff Award. Society members are expected to participate in curriculum discussions, advise junior faculty and mentor students. The society was formed to identify and reward outstanding teachers in an era of increasing demands on the time of both clinicians and basic scientists. The society will create term-limited chairs in medical education, with financial support. The society will also develop educational leaders to foster innovation in the curriculum. Members of the society will be asked to help raise funds for these initiatives.

Previous Article
John A. Elefteriades, M.D. ’76, HS ’83
Next Article
A long life, steeped in science and medicine