2001 residency placements for Yale medical students

The Office of Student Affairs has provided the following list, which outlines the results of the National Resident Matching Program for Yale’s medical graduates. Some names appear twice because the graduate is entering a one-year program before beginning a specialty residency. The transitional designation is a one-year program with three-month rotations in different specialties.


Alameda County Medical Center, Oakland
Matthew Gutierrez, transitional

Kaiser Permanente Medical Group, Santa Clara
Allen Chen, medicine

Saint Mary’s Medical Center, San Francisco
Artis Montague, medicine

Stanford University Programs
Jacqueline Dolev, internal medicine
Emily Finkelstein, internal medicine
Artis Montague, ophthalmology

University of California – Davis Medical Center, Sacramento
Andrea Ciaranello, internal medicine

University of California Medical Center – Los Angeles
Eon Shin, orthopaedics
Brian Woods, internal medicine

University of California – San Francisco
Sara Erickson, internal medicine
Jennifer Lucero, obstetrics and gynecology


University of Colorado School of Medicine, Denver
Lucy Budde, family practice


Hospital of Saint Raphael, New Haven
Geoffrey Emerson, medicine
Brian Lester, medicine

Yale-New Haven Hospital
Esther Choo, medicine
Michael David, internal medicine
Oleg Drozhinin, medicine
Jonathan Erulkar, orthopaedics
Rockman Ferrigno, emergency medicine
Kira Giovanielli, medicine, dermatology
Avery Grauer, internal medicine
Sung Kim, medicine/primary
Pinar Kodaman, obstetrics and gynecology
Darren Lish, psychiatry
Gregory Merrell, orthopaedics
Dan Negoianu, internal medicine
Dena Rifkin, internal medicine
J. Mark Sloan, internal medicine
Benjamin Smith, medicine, radiation oncology
Andrew White, orthopaedics
Harry Yoon, internal medicine


Emory University School of Medicine, Atlanta
Michele Johnson, surgery, neurosurgery


University of Hawaii School of Medicine, Honolulu
M. Vaughn Emerson, medicine


McGaw Medical Center – Northwestern University, Chicago
Benson Yang, surgery, neurosurgery

University of Chicago Hospitals
Caroline Harada, internal medicine


University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics, Iowa City
Kirk Clifford, orthopaedics


Johns Hopkins Hospital, Baltimore
Patricia Moore, obstetrics and gynecology

Johns Hopkins University – Wilmer Eye Center, Baltimore
Geoffrey Emerson, ophthalmology
M. Vaughn Emerson, ophthalmology


Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, Boston
Oleg Drozhinin, anesthesiology
Anna Paszczuk, internal medicine
John Yang, internal medicine

Boston Combined Pediatrics Program
Patty Birgeneau Prince, pediatrics/primary
Fabienne Bourgeois, pediatrics

Boston University Medical Center
Esther Choo, emergency medicine

Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Boston
Barbara Coren, internal medicine
Roger Fan, internal medicine
Melissa Fuchs, internal medicine
Ajay Maker, general surgery
Jessica Mega, internal medicine
Lamioko Pappoe, internal medicine

Harvard Combined Medicine/Pediatrics Program, Boston
Ami Bhatt, medicine/pediatrics
Melissa Lee, medicine/pediatrics

Harvard Medical School
Neal Chen, orthopaedics

Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston
Garth Graham, internal medicine
Matthew Levine, general surgery
Daniel Wolf, psychiatry


Mayo Graduate School of Medicine, Rochester
Natalie Holt, surgery, urology

University of Minnesota, Minneapolis
Matthew Goodwin, general surgery


UMDNJ – New Jersey Medical School, Newark
Ron Samet, internal medicine


Albany Medical Center Hospital
Dinakar Shenbagamurthi, orthopaedics

Hospital for Special Surgery, New York
Benjamin Huffard, orthopaedics

Mount Sinai Hospital, New York
Joshua Gibson, internal medicine
Carmit Steren, obstetrics and gynecology

New York Presbyterian Hospital – Columbia
Winnie Au, diagnostic radiology
Ryan Davies, general surgery
Allison Stewart, pediatrics

New York Presbyterian Hospital – Cornell
Carl Crawford, internal medicine
Christopher James, surgery and neurosurgery

North Shore University Hospital, Manhasset
Joy Weinberg, medicine

St. Vincent’s Hospital, New York
Winnie Au, transitional

University of Rochester/Strong Memorial Hospital, Rochester
Hong Zhang, medicine, radiation oncology


Duke University Medical Center, Durham
Stephenie Boykin, pediatrics
Anthony Lemaire, general surgery


University Hospitals of Cleveland
Heidi Smith, pediatrics


Oregon Health Sciences University, Portland
Samuel Kim, emergency medicine


Albert Einstein Medical Center, Philadelphia
Daniel Wolf, transitional

Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia
Sharon Chekijian, general surgery


Rhode Island Hospital – Brown University, Providence
Brian Lester, dermatology


University of Texas – MD Anderson Cancer Center, Houston
Allen Chen, radiation oncology

Wilford Hall Medical Center (Lackland AFB), San Antonio
Heather Yun, internal medicine


University of Washington Affiliated Hospitals, Seattle
Frederick Cobey, general surgery

  • Tags:
  • Annual Events
  • Match Day
  • Students