Skip to Main Content


Superb teaching is rewarded at graduation

Medicine@Yale, 2006 - July Aug


Students weren’t the only ones celebrating when the School of Medicine held its Commencement ceremonies on Harkness Lawn last May. Many of their mentors were also given recognition as great educators.

Professor of Medicine Herbert S. Chase Jr., M.D., who left the School of Medicine at the end of June after shaping the medical school’s curriculum for six years as deputy dean for education, received an especially fitting tribute when he was awarded the Bohmfalk Prize for basic science education. Andre N. Sofair, M.D., M.P.H., assistant professor of medicine, won the Bohmfalk Prize for clinical teaching.

Mark D. Siegel, M.D., associate professor of medicine, won the Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award.

Two people won the Leah M. Lowenstein Award for promoting humane and egalitarian medical education: Nancy R. Angoff, M.P.H., M.D., associate dean for student affairs, and, for the second year, Catherine Chiles, M.D., associate clinical professor of psychiatry.

The Francis Gilman Blake Award for outstanding teaching of the medical sciences went to Interim Chair of Internal Medicine David L. Coleman, M.D., and the Betsy Winters House Staff Award went to Robert W. Chang, M.D., chief surgical resident. Professor of Internal Medicine Fred S. Gorelick, M.D., received the Alvan R. Feinstein Award for an outstanding teacher of clinical skills.