Skip to Main Content


Residents, Fellows, Faculty Honored at 2021 Commencement Ceremony

June 30, 2021

The Yale Department of Psychiatry honored residents, fellows, and faculty at its annual Residency & Fellowship Commencement Ceremony held virtually June 17 and 18.

The event marked the graduation of 21 residents and 24 fellows.

The honorees included the following residents: Hana Ali, MD; Ricci Bender, MD; Jessica Chaffkin, MD; Ayala Danzig, MD; Stefanie Gillson, MD; Albert Higgins-Chen, MD, PhD; Mitchell Holt, MD; Danielle Jackson, MD, MPH; Siddharth Khasnavis, MD; Celeste Lipkes, MD; Azim Munivar, MD; Sina Nikayin, MD; Sofia Noori, MD; Ryan O’Dell, MD, PhD; Emily Olfson, MD; Kartik Pattabiraman, MD; Juan Rodriguez Guzman, MD; Danilo Rojas-Velasquez, MD; Will Rutland, MD; Andrew Wilbur, MD; and Benjamin Yu, MD.

Fellows honored were:

Addiction Psychiatry Fellowship

José Flores, MD, PhD, MPH; Adrienne Hicks, MD, PhD; Oluwole Jegede, MD, MPH; Sivabalaji Kaliamurthy, MBBS; John Minner, MD; Peter Na, MD, MPH; Ariel Sloan, MD; Sanya Virani, MBBS, MPH; Ryan Wade, MD; and Aaron Wolfgang, MD

Consultation-Liaison Psychiatry Fellowship

Hameed Azeb Shahul, MD, and Shannon Mazur, DO, MA

Forensic Psychiatry Fellowship

Laura DiCola, MD, MSPH; Pratik Jain, MD; David Mancini, MD; Lauren Marino, MD; Piali Samanta, MD; and Evan Vitiello, MD

Geriatric Psychiatry Fellowship

Silpa Balachandran, MD; Syeda Arshiya Farheen, MD; Nadia Gilbo, MD; and Pallavi Joshi, DO, MA

Advanced Fellowship in Mental Health Illness Research and Treatment

João Paulo De Aquino, MD

Public Psychiatry Fellowship

Jason Crowley, MD, MPH


Lustman Award

The Seymour Lustman, MD, PhD Resident Research Award is the highest award for resident research achievement given by the Yale Department of Psychiatry. The recipient of the award receives a cash prize and makes a Grand Rounds presentation to the Department of Psychiatry.

First Place: Emily Olfson and Zach Harvanek

Honorable Mention: Albert Higgins-Chen, Peter Na and Ryan O’Dell

Stephen Fleck Award

Michelle Silva: Awarded to a faculty member (s) who demonstrates the highest standards of a clinician and educator, following in the footsteps of the late Dr. Stephen Fleck, a long-time member of the Yale faculty who served as a shining example of a clinician-scholar who insisted on giving the highest priority to patient care and teaching.

Chairman’s Award

Katie Klingensmith: The Chairman's Award is given to a junior, full-time faculty member who has excelled in the department's goals of enriching knowledge, transmitting understanding and providing excellence in the delivery of care.

Outstanding Clinical Faculty Award

Marilise Hyacinth: The recipient for this award is chosen from the voluntary (clinical) faculty and has demonstrated an ongoing commitment to the department, on a completely voluntary basis. The areas of service include, but are not limited to, teaching, supervision, and committee work.

Howard Zonana Award

Ayala Danzig: Presented by the Law and Psychiatry Division to the resident who has demonstrated interest in, and commitment to, forensic psychiatry and its impact on social justice.

Resident Teaching Award

Will Rutland, Jihoon Kim, & Elizabeth Meller: The Resident Teaching Award is given in memory of our former resident and colleague, Dr. James Longhurst. It acknowledges and recognizes the contribution of a Yale Psychiatry Resident as an outstanding teacher and role model. The residents are nominated for this award by students, peers, and faculty.

Ira Levine Award

Enock Teefe & William Coe: The Ira Levine Award was established in 2004 to recognize outstanding PGY-2 psychiatry residents who best embody the qualities of clinical excellence, breadth of learning, and devotion to the care of severe psychiatric illness exemplified by Dr. Levine.

PRA Teaching Award

Hun Millard: This award acknowledges the outstanding contribution of one or more attending physicians to the education and development of the residents.

PRA Benjamin S. Bunney Award

Benjamin Yu: The Benjamin S. Bunney Award is awarded annually to a resident who has demonstrated exceptional service to the Psychiatry Residents’ Association (PRA) mission of advocacy for residents and patients, clinical care, and education.

PRA Award for Outstanding Supportive Service

David Nestico: This award goes to an outstanding nurse, social worker, or other support staff.

PRA Resident Diversity Award: Nichole Roxas

PRA Faculty Diversity Award: Ayana Jordan

Program-Wide Chief Residents: Jessica Chaffkin & Benjamin Yu

Chief Residents of Diversity & Inclusion: Stefanie Gillson, Juan Rodriguez Guzman, & Danilo Rojas-Velasquez

Submitted by Christopher Gardner on June 30, 2021