Skip to Main Content


North American Vascular Biology Organization Honors Eichmann and Sessa

March 13, 2019

The North American Vascular Biology Organization (NAVBO) will give its Judah Folkman Award in Vascular Biology to Anne Eichmann, PhD, Ensign Professor of Medicine (Cardiology) and professor of cellular and molecular physiology; and its Earl P. Benditt Award to William Sessa, PhD, Alfred Gilman Professor of Pharmacology and professor of medicine (cardiology).

NAVBO recognizes Eichmann for her outstanding contributions as a mid-career vascular biologist. Her lab studies the mechanisms that govern cellular guidance and tissue patterning during vascular and lymphatic development, with a focus on "tip cells," specialized epithelial cells located on the leading edge of growing capillary sprouts. Sessa is honored for "his numerous contributions to our understanding of mechanisms regulating nitric oxide production in the vascular endothelium."

Both Eichmann and Sessa will accept their awards and deliver talks on their work in October, at Vascular Biology 2019 in Pacific Grove, California.

Submitted by Robert Forman on March 13, 2019