Skip to Main Content

15 Faculty Selected as 2024 - 2025 Education Scholar Fellows

June 07, 2024

Fifteen Yale School of Medicine (YSM) faculty have been accepted into the inaugural class of the Education Scholar Fellowship (ESF). New in 2024, the ESF combines the Center for Medical Education’s Medical Education Fellowship (MEF) and Internal Medicine’s Advancement of Clinical-Educator Scholarship (ACES) Program into one centralized program.

The goal of this fellowship is to develop clinician educators who will provide educational leadership, scholarship, and program development in our departments at YSM. In this 33-week interactive course, fellows will have the opportunity to learn educational scholarship skills and to design an educational project. Fellows will work with faculty mentors across YSM, who will provide support and guidance in the fellows’ projects and in their development as scholarly clinician educators.

This year’s ESF begins in July and will culminate at Medical Education Day at Yale on June 5, 2025, when the fellows graduate and present their education projects as part of the Med Ed Day poster session.

The ESF is offered by the YSM Center for Medical Education under the leadership of Janet Hafler EdD, professor of pediatrics and associate dean for teaching and learning. Donna Windish, MD, MPH, professor of medicine (general internal medicine), serves as the ESF director.

The following YSM faculty have been accepted into the 2024-2025 program:

Tariq Nazir Ali, MD, MBA, assistant professor of medicine (cardiovascular medicine)

Eric Bortnick, MD, MMSc-MedEd, assistant professor of urology

Benjamin Cherry, MD, FACP, assistant professor of medicine (general medicine)

Tara Davila, LCSW, assistant clinical professor of social work, Child Study Center

Antonio Giaimo, MD, assistant professor of medicine (cardiovascular medicine)

Jean Paul Higuero-Sevilla, MD, assistant professor of medicine (pulmonary, critical care and sleep medicine)

Pamela Hoffman, MD, assistant professor of child psychiatry, Child Study Center and School of Public Health

Terri Huynh, MD, MSCR, FACOG, assistant professor of obstetrics, gynecology and reproductive sciences

Emily Jameyfield, MD, MPHE, clinical instructor, section of education research, emergency medicine

Sundes Kazmir, MD, assistant professor of pediatrics

Yamini Krishnan, MD, PhD, instructor (internal medicine)

Ashley Losier, MD, assistant professor of medicine (pulmonary, critical care, and sleep medicine)

Veronica Meneses, MD, MSHS, associate professor (proposed), Pediatrics & Child Study Center

Ronny Munoz-Acuna, MD, assistant professor of anesthesiology

Ellice Wong, MD, assistant professor of medicine (medical oncology)

The ESF website has more information on the fellowship, and will have details of the 2024-25 fellows’ scholarly projects.

Submitted by Abigail Roth on June 07, 2024