Clinical Neuroscientist Training Program (CNSTP)

The Yale Clinical Neuroscientist Training Program (CNSTP) of the Yale Neurology Residency Program is strongly committed to developing the careers of trainees who are interested in academic neurology, and as such we strongly support and are building upon the ideals of the American Academy of Neurology and the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education expressed in their joint statement on "Flexible Training in Neurology." To this end, we now offer a special CNSTP program for up to two residents per year. Those residents that are selected can spend a total of 9-12 months during their PGY3 & PGY4 years pursuing either clinical or basic/translational research in neurology and/or neuroscience. Their project is developed under the guidance of a mentor on the Yale faculty who is experienced in successfully training physician-scientists to compete for independent funding and for academic positions. After completing residency there is an option for a 1 or 2 year fellowship to continue research.

The overall goal of this program is to increase the competitiveness of our trainees for independent funding, such as an NIH K08, K23, K99 or R01, and for positions as Assistant Professor at a major academic center.

This program is called the Yale CNSTP because we view it as a natural next logical step for graduates of Medical Scientist Training Programs (MSTP) interested in neuroscience, or for individuals who want to pursue the same academic goals as MSTP graduates but who completed a traditional MD program.

The Yale CNSTP is integrated into the Neurology Residency Programs, and is directed by Gordon Buchanan, MD, PhD. Admission to the Yale CNSTP is via a competitive application process. Applicants go through the regular NRMP match, and may announce their intention to apply for the CNSTP before the match or through their PGY2 year.

CNSTP Seminars

The purpose of the CNSTP Seminar Series is to provide direct feedback to CNSTP trainees and other neurology residents and fellows on their research projects and grant proposals. All of these meetings take place in the LCI-9 conference room.  These seminars are attended by Dr. Hafler, Dr. Buchanan, various research faculty, research mentors, resident/fellow members of the CNSTP, and other interested individuals. The talks are organized to provide feedback to the trainee that is appropriate for the year they are in the program. These seminars are directed and coordinated by Dr. Gordon Buchanan, MD, PhD.

 However, additional seminars may happen at Yale where residents will present their research.

  • PGY2 Residents – Research Plan
  • PGY3 Residents – Research Progress
  • PGY4 Residents – Specific Aims for career development award 
  • Fellows – Specific Aims for career development award (if resubmission is needed)

Residents and Alumni

Current CNSTP residents and fellows: 

  • Emmanuelle Schindler, MD, PhD - PGY-4 (Mentor: Cyril D'Souza, PhD)
  • Brian MacGrory, MBChC - PGY-4 (Mentor: Lauren Sansing, MD, MSTR)
  • Diane Chan, MD, PhD - PGY-3 (Mentor: Jaime Grutzendler, MD)
  • Krithi Irmady, MD, PhD - PGY-3 (Mentor: Haifan Lui, PhD)
  • Andrew Liu, MD - PGY-3 (Mentor: Nenad Sestan, MD)
  • 2015: Matthew Schrag, MD, PhD: Vascular Neurology Fellow, Vanderbilt University
  • 2014: Matthew Kalp, MD, PhD: Vascular Neurology Fellow, Duke University
  • 2013: Imran Quraishi, MD, PhD: Instructor, Yale School of Medicine/VA Hospital
  • 2012: Haakon B. Nygaard, MD, PhD: Assistant Professor, Yale School of Medicine(NIA K08 applied)
  • 2012: Nandakumar Narayanan , MD, PhD: Assistant Professor, University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine (NINDS K08 awarded)
  • 2011: Gordon F. Buchanan, MD, PhD: Assistant Professor, Yale School of Medicine (NINDS K08 awarded)
  • 2010: Dongming Cai, MD, PhD: Assistant Professor, Mount Sinai Medical Center (NIA K08 & VA CDA awarded
  • 2008: Christopher B. Ransom, MD, PhD: Assistant Professor, University of Washington / Puget Sound VA (VA CDA awarded)
  • 2006: Tanya Z. Fischer, MD, PhD: Assistant Professor, Yale School of Medicine (VA CDA awarded)