Skip to Main Content


2017 Epilepsy Retreat

The Yale Epilepsy Research Retreat is a two-day meeting in which clinical and basic science researchers from Yale and collaborators from other institutions will discuss the latest advances in cutting-edge epilepsy research. In addition, Jaideep Kapur, MD, PhD, the Eugene Meyer III Professor of Neuroscience and Neurology at the University of Virginia School of Medicine will speak at the Retreat, provide feedback and guidance, and serve as an external Moderator and reviewer for the research program. Dr. Kapur is a world renowned epileptologist and neuroscientist, as well as recent president of the American Epilepsy Society. The Retreat will consist of investigator slide presentations, poster session, and discussions on new research approaches and collaborations.

Jaideep Kapur M.B.B.S., PhD, is the Eugene Meyer III Professor of Neuroscience, Professor of Neurology at the University of Virginia School of Medicine. He is the Director of the University of Virginia Brain Institute.

Dr. Kapur provides care to epilepsy patients as a member of FE Dreifuss Comprehensive Epilepsy Program at the University of Virginia and serves as the Director of Neuroscience Center of Excellence. He has a long-standing interest in understanding the neurobiological mechanisms underlying prolonged self-sustaining seizures, called status epilepticus. He is a co-leader of the Established Status Epilepticus Treatment Trial (ESETT), a NIH funded multicenter clinical trial to determine the best second line treatment of benzodiazepine refractory status epilepticus. Another area of research is regulation of seizures by hormonal fluctuations. Grants from National Institutes of Health, Department of Defense, Epilepsy Foundation, CURE epilepsy foundation support his research.

He has served on numerous grant review panels for National Institutes of Health, CURE Epilepsy foundation, Epilepsy Foundation and Epilepsy Research Foundation. He served as the President of the American Epilepsy Society in 2010. He received the 2013 Epilepsy Research Recognition Award for Basic Science conferred by the American Epilepsy Society.

Download the Event Program with Abstracts