Skip to Main Content


Master of Health Science Degree for Departments and Programs

Yale School of Medicine has established the 2 year Master of Health Science (MHS) Degree, for applicants with YSM resident, fellow, and faculty appointments in a department or program approved to award the MHS. The approved departments and programs, along with the respective name of the MHS Director, are listed below.

Deadlines/Important Dates

March 3, 2023: deadline for all MHS applications to OSR.*

Early April: Decisions sent to all MHS applicants.

*For students applying to the Med Ed pathway, please visit the TLC website for the relevant application deadline.

MHS Directors by Department

Applicants must contact the MHS Director in the Department or Program they are applying before submitting an application.

Departments or Programs Director
Anesthesiology Dr. Paul Heerdt
Clinical Informatics Dr. Cynthia Brandt
Dermatology Dr. Peggy Myung
Emergency Medicine Dr. Cameron Gettel
Dr. Caitlin Ryus
Genetics Dr. Yong-Hui Jiang
Internal Medicine (General Medicine) Dr. Cary Gross
Internal Medicine (Cardiology) Dr. Ed Miller
Internal Medicine (Geriatrics) Dr. Thomas Gill
Internal Medicine (Gastrointestinal/Liver) Dr. Fred Gorelick
Internal Medicine (Infectious Disease) Dr. Jaimie Meyer
Internal Medicine (Nephrology) Dr. Lloyd Cantley
Internal Medicine (Occupational Medicine) Dr. Carrie Redlich
Internal Medicine (Oncology) Dr. Roy Herbst
Internal Medicine (Pulmonary) Dr. Margaret Pisani
Internal Medicine (Rheumatology) Dr. Rick Bucala
Laboratory Medicine Dr. Brian Smith
Neurology Dr. Jeremy Moeller
Obstetrics, Gynecology & Reproductive Sciences Dr. Lubna Pal
Pediatrics Dr. Eugene Shapiro
Pnina Weiss (for MHS Medical Education applicants only)
Psychiatry Dr. Christopher Pittenger
Section of the History of Medicine Dr. Naomi Rogers
Surgical Residency Program Dr. Eric Schneider
Yale Center for Clinical Investigation (YCCI) Scholars Program Dr. Eugene Shapiro

MHS Application Instructions

Instructions for applying to the Master of Health Science Degree for Departments and Programs.

TUITION: Please contact Anne Kellett in the Office of Student Research for details regarding tuition. The tuition for the degree is $28,000 of which $8,000 is required to be paid. It is required that each applicant indicate how this $8,000 will be paid at the time of application. The balance ($28K - $8K) will either be a waived fee by the Medical School or can be supported by an NIH training grant from the responsible department.

  • Please enter how tuition will be paid, including the name of an administrator in the department.

AWARDING OF THE MHS DEGREE: This application will be reviewed for acceptance into the MHS program by the MHS Advisory Committee. The MHS Advisory Committee may make further recommendations for the three-person thesis committee with changes or additions. This Committee will review all requirements and recommend awarding of the degree.

MHS Program Information

Degree Requirements and Course Information

Thesis Committee and Thesis

A full-length original thesis, at the culmination of a two-year commitment to the program and based upon the required two-year research project, of approximately 50-60 pages in length and reviewed and approved by a three-person thesis committee. The applicant must indicate how the three-person MHS thesis committee will be arranged. One member must come from outside the department or program of the primary advisor. The advisor and applicant are required to accept persons proposed for this committee by the MHS Degree Advisory Committee. The final thesis must be presented to the three-person thesis committee in an open forum. After approval by student's MHS thesis committee & MHS Departmental Director, the final thesis must be submitted for review to the Office of Student Research by March 1 for degree conferral in May.


Individual Development Plan (IDP)

Submission of an Individual Development Plan (IDP), developed by the MHS candidate and mentor once at intake and once following year 1 of the program. This will be reviewed by OSR to ensure adequate preparation to begin the program and adequate progress.

Progress Meetings

Meet with the thesis committee two to three times a year to evaluate if adequate progress is being made, and elicit suggestions for correction if adequate progress is not being made.


Prepare at least one manuscript for publication in a peer-reviewed journal.

Grand Rounds

Presentation at Grand Rounds/Departmental meetings (at least 1 per year).


Required core courses: A minimum of three courses is required for the degree, whether the applicant is conducting patient-oriented research, laboratory research or translational research. These are IMED 645 (Introduction to Biostatistics in Clinical Investigation); IMED 625 (Principles of Clinical Research); and an ethics component that applicants can choose between, of either IMED 630 (Ethical Issues in Biomedical Research) or Sect Ed 501 (Responsible Conduct of Research).

Read more about the course descriptions.

For those conducting clinical research, possible alternative required courses for IMED 645 and IMED 625 are: Biostatistics and Clinical and Health Services Research Methods presented by the National Clinician Scholars Program.

Elective courses: At least two elective courses for each applicant are required. For those conducting laboratory or translational research, it is strongly recommended that CBB 740a, Clinical and Translational Informatics (selected seminars) be taken. Also, IMED 655 (Writing Your First Grant), should be taken if class size permits. Applicants are advised to speak with their MSH Advisor to choose electives best suited to their project and career goals.


Tuition for the degree is $28,000, to be paid at time of matriculation. Tuition may be paid by the matriculant, a sponsoring department, a federal or non-federal grant (eg. T32), or combination thereof. Partial tuition waivers up to $20,000 may be granted at the time of acceptance upon request to the Office of Student Research – please contact Tuition reimbursements for early withdrawal from the program will be made in accordance with Yale University policy.

Tuition Rebate and Refund Policy

For details on YSM’s refund policy, please review the Yale School of Medicine Bulletin.