Skip to Main Content

Yale Child Study Center recognizes 2024 award recipients and retirees

July 01, 2024

On June 26, 2024, Yale Child Study Center (YCSC) community members came together in a hybrid format for the department’s third annual awards and recognition event to honor award recipients and retirees, with YCSC Chair Linda Mayes serving as the emcee. Community members were invited to submit nominations for select awards in April, and these nominations were reviewed by respective award committees. In addition to the awards listed below, Cecilia Frometa was recognized for 20 years of service in the YCSC psychology training program.

Community Awards

Clinical Excellence Award: Stephanie Guerrier was selected to receive this award, intended to spotlight an individual whose knowledge, skillset, and professionalism in day-to-day interactions with patients, families, and colleagues reflects their commitment to clinical excellence.

Jean Adnopoz Community Service Award: Anne Santello and Lesley Kurachi Ube received this award, which recognizes members of the YCSC community who have contributed to the goal of maintaining children with their parent(s) and/or toward services that improve the life of a child through research, model development, clinical work, or administrative support.

Psychology Faculty Mentor/Supervisor Award: Kelly Powell was chosen by YCSC psychology trainees to receive this award, honoring the contributions of a YCSC faculty or staff member who has demonstrated excellence in mentorship of psychology trainees.

Research Mentor Award: James McPartland received this award, which recognizes the contributions of YCSC faculty in shaping the research experiences of trainees at any level in the department.

Sally Provence Award for Excellence in Supervision: Roger Jou was the recipient of this award, recognizing exemplary supervision by a YCSC faculty member in any discipline.

Sam Ritvo Teacher of the Year Award: Michael Bloch was selected by YCSC child and adolescent psychiatry and integrated track trainees for this award, which honors the contributions of a YCSC faculty member who has demonstrated excellence in teaching and mentorship.

Social Work Fellowship Service Award: Amy Myers was chosen by YCSC social work fellows as the recipient of this award, which recognizes someone who embodies social work values and has demonstrated exceptional service and/or noteworthy contributions to the YCSC community, especially as related to the Social Work Fellowship.


  • Joseph Woolston, MD
  • Fred Volkmar, MD
  • Belinda Oliver, MS

Separately, Matthew Johnson, MD was recognized as the recipient of the Melvin Lewis Medical Student Teacher of the Year Award at a resident recognition event; and Joseph Albert Knoble, MD; Allison Michie Lawler, MD, MEd; Amanda Joy Calhoun, MD, MPH; and Andrew Douglas Sheldon, MD, PhD were recognized as the recipients of the John E. Schowalter Chief Resident Award.

An interdisciplinary department at Yale School of Medicine, the YCSC is comprised of faculty and staff with multiple areas of expertise working together to improve the mental health of children and families, advance understanding of their psychological and developmental needs, and treat and prevent childhood mental illness through the integration of research, clinical practice, and professional training.

Submitted by Crista Marchesseault on July 02, 2024