Skip to Main Content

Inaugural YCSC postdoctoral scholar travel awardees announced

June 24, 2024

The results of the inaugural Yale Child Study Center (YCSC) postdoctoral scholar travel award were announced on June 17, 2024. This new annual opportunity offers awards of up to $1000 each to reimburse and/or contribute to the costs associated with attending and/or presenting research at national and international academic scientific conferences.

2024 Award Recipients

Jason Griffin

Project title: Decoding the temporal dynamics of face-specific neural representations in autism: Results from the Autism Biomarkers Consortium for Clinical Trials (ABC-CT)

Mentor: James McPartland

Cheyeon Ha

Project title: Understanding students’ emotion regulation strategy selection using a network analysis approach

Mentor: Christina Cipriano

Erin Suzan Isbilen

Project title: Memory representations are flexibly adapted to orthographic systems: A comparison of English and Hebrew; Finding words in a sea of text: Word search as a measure of sensitivity to statistical regularities in reading

Mentor: Richard Aslin

Clíona L. Kelly

Project title: Racial disparities in maternal brain research

Mentor: Helena Rutherford

Review Committee & Application Process

Postdoc travel award committee co-chairs Karim Ibrahim and Soraya Scuderi met on May 29, 2024 to review all applications. “We were impressed with the diversity, rigor, and quality of submissions,” they commented. Each application was scored and discussed using an NIH Study Section format.

The intention is to offer this opportunity annually going forward. Eligible candidates must hold a position as YCSC postdoctoral associate or fellow and submit an abstract that has been accepted for presentation (poster or oral presentation) at a national or international scientific conference with a focus on research performed as part of their role in the department. Additional information and application instructions are available on the center’s intranet.

Submitted by Crista Marchesseault on June 17, 2024