Skip to Main Content

Principal Investigator

  • Principal Investigator

    Associate Professor Adjunct

    Research Interests
    • Bacteria
    • Immune Tolerance
    • Immune System Diseases
    • Lymphocyte Activation
    • Autoimmunity
    • Immunity, Mucosal
    • Host-Pathogen Interactions
    Dr. Kriegel is currently Chief of Rheumatology and Clinical Immunology at the University of Münster, Germany, while remaining an Associate Professor Adjunct of Immunobiology and of Medicine (Rheumatology) at Yale School of Medicine. In 2001, he received his MD/PhD equivalent at the Friedrich-Alexander University of Erlangen, Germany, followed by the German Medical Licensure in 2002. From 2003 to 2006, he performed postdoctoral training in the Flavell lab at Yale. From 2006 to 2012, he completed a medicine residency and rheumatology fellowship at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center and Brigham & Women’s Hospital, Boston, as well as additional research in the Benoist/Mathis laboratory at Harvard Medical School. Dr. Kriegel returned to Yale in 2012 as an Assistant Professor in the Department of Immunobiology and an Attending Physician in Rheumatology at Yale-New Haven Hospital. In 2017, Dr. Kriegel became a Senior Principal Scientist at Roche, and in 2020, he took a position as Chair of Translational Rheumatology and Immunology at the University of Münster, Germany, while maintaining his adjunct faculty position at Yale with ongoing collaborations within the Department of Immunobiology.

Former Lab Members

  • Joseph Aked
  • Paulo Jose Basso
  • Mahid Chaudhry
  • Xindi Chen
  • Rahul Datta
  • Carina Dehner
  • Asmaa El Beidaq
  • Asu Erden
  • Rebecca Fine
  • Julia Glanternik
  • Teri Greiling
  • Alonso Iniguez
  • Nafeesa Khan
  • Steven Lewis
  • Vivian Lim
  • Martina Lubrano di Ricco
  • Amar Manvar
  • Derek Mubiru
  • Erik Nilsson
  • Tanel Ozdemir
  • Ruoxi Pi
  • Saige Pompura
  • Stephen (Chase) Renfroe
  • Frederico Ribeiro Campos Costa
  • Tyler Rice
  • Minerva (Minnie) Ringland
  • Alex Roth
  • Ethan Rundell
  • Eleni Tiniakou
  • Emily Waligurski
  • Jessica Wang
  • Simon Wolfel
  • Daniel Zegarra Ruiz
  • Yunjiang Zheng