Skip to Main Content


Request for Nominations for 2023 Iva Dostanic, MD, PhD, Physician-Scientist Trainee Award

November 28, 2022
by Julie Parry and Peter S. Aronson

In 2012, Yale’s Department of Internal Medicine established an annual Physician-Scientist Trainee Award in memory of Iva Dostanic, MD, PhD, whose intelligence, creativity, work ethic, accomplishments, and passion for the science of medicine exemplified the highest ideals of the physician-scientist.

The nomination period is now open for the 2023 award. The recipient will present the Iva Dostanic Award Lecture at Medical Grand Rounds on June 22, 2023.

Nomination Deadline

Friday, January 27, 2023

Eligibility and Selection Criteria

Nominees should meet the following eligibility and selection criteria:

  1. Physician-scientist with MD or MD-PhD.
  2. Completion of residency training in internal medicine either at Yale or another institution.
  3. Current position as a mentored research trainee with appointment as postdoctoral fellow, postdoctoral associate, associate research scientist, or instructor in one of the sections of the Department of Internal Medicine.
  4. Accomplishments in original research evidenced by peer-reviewed papers published or in press.
  5. Commitment to research reflected by applications for fellowship grants and/or career development awards.
  6. Availability to present the Iva Dostanic, MD, PhD, Award Lecture on June 22, 2023.

Nomination Process

Nominations of mentored trainees with outstanding potential for careers as physician-scientists are encouraged. The following nomination materials should be sent by email to Dostanic Award Committee Chair Peter Aronson with a copy to Nancy Kravitz:

  1. Single one-page nomination letter jointly signed by the nominee’s section chief and primary mentor.
  2. Annotated curriculum vitae of the nominee. For key publications, provide brief descriptions of the role of the nominee and the significance of the work.

Past Dostanic Awardees with Titles of Award Lectures

2012: Iva Dostanic, MD, PhD, Pulmonary, Critical Care, and Sleep Medicine, “Emerging Roles for Innate Immunity in Lung and Endothelium” (presented by Patty Lee)

2013: Isaac Hall, MD, MS, Nephrology, “Donor Kidney Quality and Acute Kidney Injury with Transplantation”

2014: Daniel Jane-Wit, MD/PhD, Cardiovascular Medicine, "Translational Approaches for Studying Cardiac Allograft Vasculopathy"

2015: Jose Herazo-Maya, MD, Pulmonary, Critical Care, and Sleep Medicine, “Predicting Outcome in IPF: The Dawn of Genomic Biomarkers”

2016: Lauren Ferrante, MD, MHS, Pulmonary, Critical Care, and Sleep Medicine, “Improving Post-ICU Outcomes: A Call to Action”

2017: Sarah Huen, MD, PhD, Nephrology, “Acute Kidney Injury: Not All That is Inflammatory is Pathologic"

2018: Stephen Baldassarri, MD, MHS, Pulmonary, Critical Care, and Sleep Medicine, “Electronic Cigarettes: The End of Smoking or a Deadly New Addiction?”

2019: Shelli Farhadian, MD, PhD, Infectious Diseases, “Neuroinflammation During Chronic HIV Infection”

2020: Rupak Datta, MD/PhD, MPH, Infectious Diseases, “Antibiotic Stewardship to Promote Palliative Care in Older Adults Near the End of Life”

2021: Ana Luisa Perdigoto, MD, PhD, Endocrinology & Metabolism, “Clinical and Preclinical Insights into the Mechanisms of Checkpoint Inhibitor-induced Diabetes”

2022: Benjamin Goldman-Israelow, MD, PhD, Infectious Diseases, “Prime and Spike: A Novel Vaccination Strategy for Inducing Mucosal SARS-CoV-2 Immunity”

2022: Dennis Shung, MD, PhD, MHS, Digestive Diseases, “Human+AI in Medicine”

Contact for Additional Information

Peter S. Aronson, MD

Chair, Iva Dostanic Award Committee

Department of Internal Medicine

PO Box 208029

New Haven, CT 06520-8029

Submitted by Julie Parry on November 28, 2022