Skip to Main Content

Department Faculty Earn Four Awards At Graduation

June 02, 2021
by Julie Parry

On May 24, 2021, 92 medical students earned their MD degree from Yale School of Medicine (YSM). In addition to honoring the Class of 2021, faculty from across YSM were celebrated, four of which are faculty within the Department of Internal Medicine.

Sarah C. Hull, MD, MBE, assistant professor of medicine (cardiology), was awarded the Charles W. Bohmfalk Prize for teaching in the basic sciences. The Charles W. Bohmfalk Teaching Prize is one of YSM’s highest faculty awards, and the winner is chosen by a committee of faculty and students. In her congratulatory letter, Hull’s enthusiasm among other qualities were cited. “As an educator, Dr. Hull's performance as a leader of the Homeostasis course was nothing short of tremendous ... Her enthusiasm for the subject matter she teaches shined through both in her lectures and in her small group discussion sections ... She deftly handled the changes in the course necessitated by the pandemic ... going above and beyond [to] ensure the students who sought extra help received what they needed and were able to excel on the qualifier ... Dr. Hull brings out the best in her mentees with a simple formula: enthusiasm + ability to simplify to where novices can understand + willingness to go above and beyond to help her mentees improve. "

Jaideep S. Talwalkar, MD, associate professor of medicine (general medicine), earned the Alvan R. Feinstein Award. The annual award is presented to the faculty member chosen as the outstanding teacher of clinical skills, by a committee consisting of department leadership, faculty, and students. Talwalkar’s novel teaching strategies were highlighted in his nomination letter. "[Dr. Talwalkar] has done an outstanding job as a clinician educator, making clinical skills instruction his point of emphasis. Dr. Talwalkar [has] adroitly navigated the challenges to COVID-19 to continue to deliver high quality education to students and residents. He is a tremendous role model for compassionate care ... He has been recognized as a national leader in education ... [and] has made important contributions to the pipeline of medical educators in the institution [through] actively mentoring junior faculty and supporting their scholarship."

Stephen Huot, MD, PhD, professor of medicine (nephrology) and associate dean for graduate medical education, won the Francis Gilman Blake Award for outstanding teaching of the medical sciences. This award is presented to a member of the YSM faculty designated by the senior class for outstanding teaching of the medical sciences.

Jana Christian, MD, a chief resident in the Department of Internal Medicine, received the Betsy Winters House Staff Award, along with Joseph Lopez, MD, MBA, a fellow in craniofacial surgery in the Department of Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery. The award recipients are also chosen by the graduating class for teaching excellence.

“Drs. Hull, Talwalkar, Huot, and Christian embody teaching excellence and I am delighted that they were all honored through these awards,” said Department Chair Gary V. Desir, MD, Paul B. Beeson Professor of Medicine; and vice provost for Faculty Development and Diversity.

The Department of Internal Medicine at Yale is among the nation's premier departments, bringing together an elite cadre of clinicians, investigators and educators in one of the world's top medical schools. To learn more, visit Internal Medicine.

Submitted by Julie Parry on June 02, 2021