Recent News and Awards

From left to right:  Janghoo Lim, PhD; Pietro De Camilli, MD; Shawn Ferguson, PhD; Patricia Klingenstein; Daniel Colón-Ramos , PhD; John Klingenstein (seated); Susumu Tomita, PhD; Elena Gracheva, PhD; Sviatoslav Bagriantsev, PhD; Marc Hammarlund, PhD; Timothy Ryan, PhD



Dr. Pietro De Camilli designated the inaugural Klingenstein Professor of Neuroscience

Dr. Pietro De Camilli, newly named as the inaugural John Klingenstein Professor of Neuroscience, focuses his research on the cell biology of neuronal synapses.

De Camilli explores the fundamental aspects of the function of cells of the nervous system, with emphasis on synaptic transmission, the process through which neurons exchange signals with each other. His studies have provided critical new insights into the molecular events underlying the release of neurotransmitters from nerve cells. More generally, they have advanced knowledge of the mechanisms through which all cells secrete substances, take up material from the external environment, and traffic it to appropriate intracellular destinations. His laboratory also investigates the impact of dysfunction of these processes in diseases of the nervous system, including genetic and neurodegenerative conditions.

To read more:

Dr. De Camilli Elected ASCB 2017 President

Recent Awards



John Klingenstein Professor of Neuroscience - Pietro De Camilli, MD
CT Stem Cell Grant - Sreeganga Chandra, PhD
Fay/Frank Seed Grant, Brain Research Foundation - Michael Higley, MD, PhD




Simons Foundation SFARI Explorer Award - Michael Higley,MD,PhD




Sloan Research Fellowship, Alfred P. Sloan Foundation - Elena Gracheva, PhD
Rita Allen Scholar  Award  - Elena Gracheva, PhD
Beckman Young Investigator Award - Elena Gracheva, PhD
Battens Disease Research and Support Association Award - Sreeganga Chandra, PhD
Honorary Doctorate from the University of Okayama, Japan - Pietro De Camilli, MD


Young Investigator Award for SCA Research, National Ataxia Foundation  -Janghoo Lim, PhD
Sloan Research Fellowship, Alfred P. Sloan Foundation - Janghoo Lim, PhD
Bernard Katz Award by the Exocytosis and Endocytosis Subgroup of the Biophysical Society - Pietro De Camilli MD
NARSAD Young Investigator Award - Michael Higley, MD, PhD
March of Dimes, Basil O'Connor Starter Scholar Award - Michael Higley MD, PhD
Child Health Research Award, Charles H. Hood Foundation - Janghoo Lim, PhD
Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) - Pietro De Camill MD


Alfred P. Sloan Award - Michael Higley, MD PhD 
Smith Family Award - Michael Higley, MD PhD
Esther and Jospeh Klingenstein Fellowship - Michael Higley, MD PhD 
AAAS Early Career Award for Public Engagement with Science - Daniel Colón - Ramos, PhD
Ellison Medical Foundation Award-Pietro De Camilli MD