Skip to Main Content


Chaffkin, Yu Named Program-Wide Chief Residents for 2020-21 Academic Year

March 10, 2020

Jessica Chaffkin, MD, and Ben Yu, MD, have been named the Program-Wide Chief Residents for the Adult Psychiatry Residency Program for the 2020-21 academic year.

Chaffkin and Yu will replace Falisha Gilman, MD, and Erica Robinson, MD, who have held the post this year.

The Yale Department of Psychiatry appoints two fourth-year residents each to fill the position. Being selected as a chief resident is a time-honored tradition in which senior residents are selected from among their peers to serve as leaders within the residency program. They work collaboratively with their resident colleagues, the program and department leadership and administration, and the clinical teaching faculty.

Some of the specific responsibilities of the chief residents include coordinating the call system and creating call schedules, participating in recruitment, and participating in weekly meetings with program directors and the departmental Graduate Education Committee.

Submitted by Jordan Sisson on March 09, 2020