Gail D'Onofrio, MD, MS

Professor of Emergency Medicine; Chair, Department of Emergency Medicine

YSM.Templates.Web.Models.ViewModels.Organization.OrganizationSpecificProfile.OrganizationMemberViewModel headshot

Years active at Yale: 1997- present

Dr. D’Onofrio is being recognized as one of the nation’s foremost experts in emergency medicine, substance use disorders, and heart disease in women. She is also one of only a handful of academic leaders in her field. In 2009, Dr. D’Onofrio was named physician-in-chief of the Emergency Department (ED) at Yale New Haven Hospital as well as the inaugural chair of the Department of Emergency Medicine. She is internationally known for her work in screening emergency department patients for alcohol and drug use and directing them to treatment. Her work has grown in importance during the nation’s opioid crisis as she has led clinical trials demonstrating that administering buprenorphinein the emergency department increases patient participation in addiction treatment. Dr. D’Onofrio is one of the architects of the state of Connecticut’s strategic plan to reduce opioid deaths, working with multiple agencies regionally and nationally to change policies and introduce interventions to stem the crisis.

Dr. D’Onofrio’s research has changed clinical practice and led to multiple science awards from the Hazelden Betty Ford Foundation and the Clinical Research Forum. In 2018, she was appointed to the National Advisory Council on Drug Abuse and she was selected to present the keynote speech at the Society for Academic Emergency Medicine (SAEM) national conference. Additionally, the Yale DEM received the Outstanding Department Award from the Academy for Women in Academic Emergency Medicine (AWAEM) which honors her department’s outstanding support of women in academic emergency medicine through organizational initiatives that address the recruitment, development and advancement of its women physicians, promoting gender equality, diversity, opportunity and inclusion. Dr. D’Onofrio is also a dedicated teacher and mentor, having won the Advancing Women in Emergency Medicine award from SAEM.