Marina Picciotto, PhD

Charles B. G. Murphy Professor of Psychiatry and Professor in the Child Study Center, of Neuroscience and of Pharmacology; Deputy Chair for Basic Science Research, Dept. of Psychiatry; Deputy Director, Kavli Institute for Neuroscience

Departments & Organizations

Psychiatry: Center for Nicotine and Tobacco Use Research at Yale (CENTURY) | Connecticut Mental Health Center | Division of Molecular Psychiatry | Neuroscience Research Training Program (NRTP) | Yale Tobacco Center of Regulatory Science | Yale Translational Center to Develop Gender-Sensitive Treatment for Tobacco Dependence

Alzheimer's Disease Research Center (ADRC)

Interdepartmental Neuroscience Program

Kavli Institute for Neuroscience

Secondary Faculty

WHRY Pilot Project Program Investigators

Yale Combined Program in the Biological and Biomedical Sciences (BBS): Molecular Medicine, Pharmacology, and Physiology | Neuroscience: Neural Disorders


Dr. Picciotto joined the Yale faculty in 1995, after completing a postdoctoral fellowship with Jean-Pierre Changeux in the Laboratory of Molecular Neuroscience at the Institut Pasteur in Paris. She earned a Ph.D. in Molecular Neurobiology at The Rockefeller University in New York City in 1992, where she worked in the Laboratory of Molecular and Cellular Neuroscience under Paul Greengard. She received a B.S. degree in biological sciences from Stanford University, Stanford, California, in 1985.

Dr. Picciotto is currently Editor-in-Chief of The Journal of Neuroscience. She served on the Scientific Council of the National Institute on Drug Abuse from 2010-2014, was Treasurer of the Society for Neuroscience from 2014-2015, and President of the Society for Research on Nicotine & Tobacco from 2018-2019. She has been a Handling Editor for the Journal of Neuroscience, the Journal of Nicotine and Tobacco Research, the Journal of Neurochemistry and Neuroscience Letters. She is currently Chair of the MNPS NIH Study Section and is a past member of the Neurobiology of Motivated Behavior. In 2000 she was awarded the Presidential Early Career Award in Science and Engineering by President Clinton and in 2007, she was honored with the Jacob P. Waletzky Memorial Award for Innovative Research in Drug Addiction and Alcoholism by the Society for Neuroscience. She was elected to the National Academy of Medicine and the Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering in 2012 and as a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science in 2014, where she is currently Chair of the Neuroscience Section. 

Education & Training

PhD Rockefeller University (1992)
BS Stanford University (1985)
BSc (Hon) Hunter College High School, (Ignore degree - HS!) (1981)

Honors & Recognition

  • Elected AAAS FellowAmerican Association for the Advancement of Science (2014)

  • Elected to the National Academy of Medicine (2012)

  • Jacob P. Waletzky Memorial Award for Innovative Research in Drug Addiction and Alcohol ResearchThe Society for Neuroscience (2007)

  • Foster Bam Independent Investigator AwardNARSAD (2004)

  • Wiersma Visiting ProfessorCalifornia Institute of Technology (2004)

  • Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and EngineersWhite House (2000)

  • Human Frontiers Science Foundation 10th Anniversary AwardHuman Frontiers Science Foundation (1999)

Professional Service

  • Society for Research in Nicotine and Tobacco (2018 - 2019) President

  • The Journal of Neuroscience (2015 - Present) Editor-in-Chief

  • Psychopharmacology (2015 - 2018) Editor

  • Society for Neuroscience (2014 - 2015) Board Member

  • Journal of Neurochemistry (2013 - 2016) Editor

  • National Institute on Drug Abuse (2011 - 2014) Council Member

  • Society for Neuroscience (2010 - 2014) Council Member

  • Associate Director - MD/PhD Program (2009 - 2016)

  • Journal of Translational Neuroscience (2009 - 2015) Board Member

  • Society for Research on Nicotine and Tobacco (2009 - 2012) Chairperson

  • The Journal of Neuroscience (2006 - 2012) Behavioral/Cognitive/Systems

  • Nicotine & Tobacco Research (2006 - 2016)

  • Society for Neuroscience (2005 - 2010) Chairperson

  • Journal of Neurophysiology (2004 - 2009) Board Member

  • Neuroscience Letters (2004 - 2008) Editor

  • NIH study section: Neurobiology of Motivated Behavior (2003 - 2007) Member

  • Executive Committee - Interdepartmental Neuroscience Program (2002 - 2016)

  • Journal of Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics (2000 - 2005) Board Member

Edit this profile

Contact Info

Marina Picciotto, PhD
Mailing Address
Psychiatry34 Park Street
3rd floor research

New Haven, CT 06508