Downs Fellowship Committee

(formerly Downs International Health Student Travel Fellowship)

The Downs International Health Student Travel Fellowship honors Wilbur G. Downs (1913 - 1991), M.D., M.P.H., Professor of Epidemiology and Public Health, Yale University School of Medicine, renowned physician/scientist in the fields of tropical medicine and infectious diseases, and mentor to many students and colleagues. The Fellowship supports Yale students who undertake biomedical, medical, nursing and/or public health research in developing countries. The selection committee is comprised of faculty from Medicine, Nursing, and Public Health as well as administrators from the Office of International Students and Scholars and the Yale Center for International and Area Studies. Committee members will be asked to serve three-year terms to maintain continuity, beginning in 2011-2012.

rev. 9/9/2014

2014-2015 Committee:

  • Leonard Munstermann - Chair          
  • Linda Arnold 
  • James Childs
  • Anne-Marie Foltz
  • John Forrest
  • Rosana Gonzalez-Colaso
  • Nicola Hawley     
  • Kaveh Khoshnood
  • Andre Nissim Sofair
  • Sunil Parikh    
  • Curtis Patton
  • Asghar Rastegar
  • Nancy Reynolds
  • Robert Rohrbaugh
  • Albert Ko (on sabbatical til Feb)
  • Mayur Desai 
  • Student: Thomas Lazzarini - YSM 
  • Student: Luis Maldonado - YSPH 
  • Student: Alder Keleman - Forestry
  • Student: Gabriella Adjapon-Yamoah – YSN