Manage Users & Usage

Add Users

To add administrators, users, or new member groups to a resource, first access the settings for that resource by clicking the Edit Resource button under the "General Info" tab. Then follow the relevant steps below:

  • Administrators: In this box, list your own Yale email address and then any additional email addresses for people you would like to have access to edit the settings for this resource, separated by semicolons.
  • Add Membership: To give people access to your resource, create a group called “Users” and then list their email addresses separated by semicolons (if you already have a "Users" group, simply add the new users to this group). To delete them, delete the email address. Make sure to click “Save” at the bottom of the page after making any changes.
    • More than one User Group: If you would like to have more than one user group (you might have an internal group and an external group, for instance, so you could charge them differently), just click “Add Membership Group” again once you are done. If there is no one in a group, that group will automatically be deleted. Don’t forget to click “Save” at the bottom of the page to save your changes.
    • Adding External Email Addresses: In order to add a non-Yale email address to either the administrator or member group for a resource, you first have to add it to the system.
      1. First, log out (click “signout” in the upper right corner of any page)
      2. On the Log On page, click “Register Account” (located under the “Non-Yale External User” e-mail box).
      3. On the “Register Account” page, add the new email address, enter the security word or number that appears, and then click “Register.”
      4. The system (the email arrives from the name “univariant”) will send an activation code to that email address and the user can use it to log on.
      5. Now, log back in as yourself, and you will be able to add the external email address to the administrator or member area of your resource.

Manage Past Usage

  • As an administrator, you can go through reservations in the past and assign them to different users or different user payment accounts.
  • You can change user time from the reservation time to “actual usage”
  • If you have “Bill hourly charges by actual usage reported instead of reservation time” checked on the “Edit Resource” page of your resource, your members will also be able to report their “actual usage” time of your resource, and you can then get this information from the billing reports and bill them accordingly. You may have to remind them to report their actual usage.
User Identity Merging
Every once in a while, the system will ask if you would like to merge two separate credentials. This can happen if a user has two different email addresses they use (in which case they would want to merge the two credentials), or if there is a public computer that more than one person uses for the scheduler and the previous user doesn't log out. If two identities are merged accidentally, the two users will then need to visit this url to verify or "detach" their identities:
http://tools.medicine.yale.edu/portal/logon?detach
If that doesn't work, the administrator may also need to remove them from the member groups and then have the users re log-in. Then the administrator can give them access again, and the issue should be cleared up.
The Identity Merging issue can be avoided by always remembering to log out of a public computer.

FAQ

There are different things that splitting your users into separate groups can help you do.

For different communication purposes

You may keep your users in two groups so that it is easier to communicate with users in your own organization and outside your organization, for instance.

To have internal and external prices

If you create a group for internal Yale users and a separate group for external users, you can charge them separate pricing for using your resource. You could also split your users into “nonprofit” and “for profit.”

To add an automatic “training” fee

If you split your users into “New” and “Advanced” users, you can add a “Training” charge that is only charged to new users. Once they graduate from training and are able to use the resource without supervision, you simply move their email address to the “Advanced” user group and they are no longer charged the training fee.

collapse
To email a group of users, visit the “Edit Resource” page. Clicking the link to “E-mail Group” underneath the Members box will open this list of addresses in your default email client.collapse