Tumor Registry

The Smilow Cancer Hospital at Yale-New Haven and Yale Cancer Center Tumor Registry serves as a core resource for clinical, epidemiological and laboratory investigations in cancer. It provides patient selection for studies based upon diagnosis, treatment and follow-up criteria on all patients treated for cancer at Smilow Cancer Hospital at Yale-New Haven and Yale Cancer Center. The registry is an information system designed specifically to collect, manage, and analyze cancer data on persons with a diagnosis of cancer or benign reportable disease since 1926. The tumor registry maintains patient confidentiality and adheres to regulations relating to patient information. An annual report is produced outlining our caseload for the year.

Background

The Tumor Registry is located in the Yale Department of Therapeutic Radiology. It operates under the leadership of the Cancer Committee, in accordance with the American College of Surgeons Commission on Cancer (ACoS CoC). It is the oldest tumor registry in the country, organized in 1926. It has maintained continuous status as an approved program with the ACoS CoC beginning August 19, 1932. Under Connecticut's Public Health Code, Section 19a-73, hospitals are required to furnish to the Connecticut State Tumor Registry (CTR) information concerning occupational history, diagnosis, stage of disease, medical history, laboratory data, tissue diagnosis, radiation, surgical or other methods of treatment and annual life-time follow-up for each cancer patient. The State Registry is a major participant in the National Cancer Institute (NCI) Surveillance, Epidemiology and End Results program (SEER).

Tumor Registry Database

The Tumor Registry uses METRIQ Cancer Registry software from Elekta Inc. The database contains demographic, diagnostic, staging, treatment and follow-up information.

Information is summarized according to standardized rules for data collection including quality edits as prescribed by the National Program of Cancer Registrars and the rules specified by the American College of Surgeons Commission on Cancer (ACOS CoC), Connecticut Tumor Registry and SEER Coding Manuals.

The Tumor Registry contributes information on "Analytic" cases to the ACOS CoC National Cancer Data Base (NCDB) annually. This activity is now a requirement for accreditation of a hospital cancer program by the ACOS.

Staff

Teresita Vega, CTR, Manager
Teresita.Vega@ynhh.org
Jennifer Cantillo-Mena, Sr. Cancer Registrar
Jennifer.Cantillo-Mena@ynhh.org
Margaret Filanosky, Sr. Cancer Registrar
Margaret.Filanosky@ynhh.org
Gary Brasile, CTR, Cancer Registrar
Gary.Brasile@ynhh.org
Katherine Considine,CTR, Cancer Registrar
Katherine.Considine@ynhh.org
Ola Jones, Document & Information SpecialistOla.Jones@ynhh.org
Catherine Urbinati, Cancer Registry Specialist
Catherine.Urbinati@ynhh.org
Karen Knight, Cancer Registrar Trainee
Karen.Knight@ynhh.org
Stasci Flowers, Cancer Registrar Trainee
Stasci.Flowers@ynhh.org