Organizational Structure

SWIM is run by an Executive Board that meets regularly and guides the agenda of the Committee. In addition, SWIM meetings are held for the whole medical school in order to give updates on issues and progress and to allow the faculty to have voice.

Sweasy, Joann Balazs


Professor of Therapeutic Radiology and of Genetics
Vice-Chair for Basic Research

Robert, Marie E


Professor of Pathology and of Medicine
Associate Director, Fellowship in Gastrointestinal Pathology

Abrahams, Vikki M

Associate Professor of Obstetrics, Gynecology, and Reproductive Sciences

Bia, Margaret Johnson

Professor of Medicine (Nephrology)
Director Clinical Skills program
Senior Transplant nephrologist

Burtness, Barbara

Clinical Research Program Leader, Head and Neck Cancers Program
Co-Director, Developmental Therapeutics Research Program
Professor of Medicine (Medical Oncology)

Kavathas, Paula B

Professor of Laboratory Medicine, of Immunobiology and of Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology
Associate Chair for Research
Director, Science Education Outreach Program
Chair, Women's Faculty Forum

Mazure, Carolyn M.

Norma Weinberg Spungen and Joan Lebson Bildner Professor of Psychiatry and Psychology
Director, Women's Health Research at Yale

McCarthy, Shirley M

Professor of Diagnostic Radiology and of Obstetrics, Gynecology, and Reproductive Sciences

McMahon-Pratt, Diane

Professor of Epidemiology (Microbial Diseases)

Rosenthal, Ronnie A

Professor of Surgery
Surgeon-In-Chief, VA Connecticut Healthcare System

Ruddle, Nancy Hartman

Professor Emeritus of and Senior Research Scientist in Epidemiology (Microbial Diseases)

Stachenfeld, Nina S

Senior Research Scientist in Obstetrics, Gynecology, and Reproductive Sciences and Associate Professor of Epidemiology (Environmental Health)

Steitz, Joan A

Sterling Professor of Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry
Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute

Tanoue, Lynn

Professor of Medicine (Pulmonary)
Director, Winchester Chest Clinic
Medical Director, Yale Cancer Center Thoracic Oncology Program
Associate Medical Director, Respiratory Care, YNHH
Vice Chair for Clinical Affairs
Interim Section Chief (7/1/12 - 6/30/13)