The university has announced the following endowed professorships:

Mark B. Gerstein, Ph.D., associate professor of molecular biophysics and biochemistry, has been named the Albert L. Williams Associate Professor of Biomedical Informatics. Gerstein’s group does research in the emerging field of bioinformatics.

John H. Krystal, M.D. ’84, professor of psychiatry, has been named the Robert L. McNeil Jr. Professor of Clinical Pharmacology. Krystal is the founding director of the Center for the Translational Neuroscience of Alcoholism and deputy director for clinical research at the Abraham Ribicoff Research Facilities at the Connecticut Mental Health Center.

Paul J. Lombroso, M.D., professor in the Child Study Center, has been named the Elizabeth Mears & House Jameson Professor of Psychiatry. A molecular biologist and child psychiatrist, Lombroso explores the molecular basis of childhood psychiatric disorders.

Dieter G. Söll, Ph.D., professor of molecular biophysics and biochemistry, chemistry and biology, was named the Henry Ford II Professor of Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry. His research focuses on genetic, molecular, biological and biochemical studies of the function of transfer RNAs.

Fred R. Volkmar, M.D., professor of psychiatry, pediatrics and psychology, has been named the Irving B. Harris Professor in the Child Study Center. Volkmar is an expert in the field of autism, Asperger’s syndrome and other Pervasive Developmental Disorders.

Joseph L. Woolston, M.D., professor of pediatrics, has been named the Albert J. Solnit Professor of Child Psychiatry. Last year he was named chief of child psychiatry at the Child Study Center.