A major objective of the Yale-SCOR, is to train new investigators who will conduct cutting-edge translational interdisciplinary research with an emphasis on women’s health and tobacco use. Our training/mentoring plan recruits new investigators from multiple entry levels, ranging from undergraduate and graduate students to postdoctoral fellows and junior faculty members, and involves them in research addressing specific questions on sex- and gender-differences in tobacco use and treatment. If you are interested in learning more or inquiring about available positions, please contact

The SCOR mechanism has provided us the opportunity to mentor and train new investigators both at Yale and other Universities. We have worked closely with the Yale BIRCWH Program and have been able to train and mentor individuals in various stages of their career.

BIRCWH Fellows

Philip H. Smith, PhD, Yale University

Tomoko Udo Schaller, Yale University (Current Institution: SUNY: University at Albany)

Elisa DeVito, PhD, Yale University

Megan Smith, PhD, Yale University

Marci Mitchell, PhD, Yale University

Azure Thompson, PhD, Yale University

BIRCWH Fellows at Other Institutions

Stephen Wilson, PhD, Penn State

Early Career Faculty and Post-doctoral Trainees

Corey Pilver, PhD, Yale University (Current Institution: VA Boston Healthcare System)

Irina Esterlis, PhD, Yale University

Sun Kim, PhD, UMass Medical School

Nancy Byatt, DO, UMass Medical School

Kelly Young-Wolff, PhD, MPH, Yale University (Current Institution: Kaiser Permanente)

Rebecca L. Ashare, Yale University (Current Institution: University of Pennsylvania)

Christine Sandiego, PhD, Yale University (Current Institution: Molecular Neuroimaging (MNI))

Kathryn Smith, PhD, Yale University

Terril Verplaetse, PhD, Yale University

Ansel Hillmer, PhD, Yale University

Graduate Trainee

Yasmin Zakinizaeiz (Home Institution: Yale University)

Undergraduate Trainees

Alejandra Morlett (Home Institution: San Diego State University)

Katherine Yanigasawa (Home Institution: Yale University)

Mira Kaufmann (Home Institution: Brown University)

Vladimir Smolgovskiy (Home Institution: University of Connecticut)

Christopher Gaglio (Home Institution: Roger Williams University)

Biruktawit Assefa (Home Institution: Yale University)

Lillian Bitner (Home Institution: Yale University)

Benjamin Fait (Home Institution: Yale University)

Laura Goetz (Home Institution: Yale University)

Ann Sarnak (Home Institution: Yale University)