Academic Departments & Sections

The School of Medicine is composed of thirty-three academic departments, of which 10 are basic science, 18 are clinical and five are in the School of Public Health. Faculty in these departments are among the most productive in the nation in terms of grant dollars received per capita and excel in all the medical specialties and subspecialties. The school is well represented in the National Academy of Sciences, the Institute of Medicine, the Howard Hughes Medical Institute, and the leading academic medicine societies. Below is a list of the school's departments along with their official sections.