Gary Elliott Friedlaender MD

Wayne O. Southwick Professor of Orthopaedics and Rehabilitation and Professor of Pathology; Chair, Department of Orthopaedics and Rehabilitation; Clinical Program Leader, Sarcoma Program, Smilow Cancer Hospital

Biographical Info

Dr. Friedlaender received his BA and MD degrees from the University of Michigan and his orthopaedic surgical training at Yale-New Haven Hospital and Newington Children’s Hospital. In 1976, after 2 years service in the U.S. Navy assigned to the Naval Medical Research Institute in Bethesda, Dr. Friedlaender joined the full-time faculty of Yale University School of Medicine and since 1986 has served as the Wayne O. Southwick Professor and Chair of the Department of Orthopaedics and Rehabilitation and as Chief of Orthopaedics and Rehabilitation at Yale New Haven Hospital. Dr. Friedlaender has also trained at Massachusetts General Hospital in musculoskeletal oncology, which remains his primary clinical and research interest.

Dr. Friedlaender has served as President of the American Association of Tissue Banks (1983-85), the American Council on Transplantation (1983-85), the Orthopaedic Research Society (1994-95), the Academic Orthopaedic Society (1995-96) and the Association of Bone and Joint Surgeons (2001-02) and he will assume the Presidency of the American Orthopaedic Association in 2010. He has also chaired the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeon’s Council of Musculoskeletal Specialty Societies and served as a member of the Academy’s Board of Directors and as a member of the AAOS Committee on Ethics. In the past, Dr. Friedlaender served as Chair of the National Arthritis Board, NIAMS (NIH), as a member of the Orthopaedic Study Section at NIH and as a member of the Advisory Council of NIAMS. He was chair of the Research Committees of the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons and the Academic Orthopaedic Society and chaired the AAOS work group on Tissue Banking Issues. He served or serves on the editorial boards of several journals, including the Journal of Bone and Joint Surgery, Clinical Orthopaedics and Related Research, Spine, Journal of Orthopaedic Research and the Journal of the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons; and he has written numerous scientific publications and received national awards for his basic science research (Kappa Delta Award of the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgery and the Nicholas Andry Award of the Association of Bone and Joint Surgeons).

Dr. Friedlaender is a scientific consultant for Wright Medical Group and for Carbylan BioSurgery and is compensated for these services.

Education & Training

University of Michigan Medical School (1969)
University of Michigan, Surgery (1969 - 1971)
Yale-New Haven Hospital, Orthopaedic Surgery (1971 - 1974)
Massachusetts General Hospital, Musculoskeletal (Orthopaedic) Oncology Surgery
University of Michigan Medical Center, Ann Arbor, Michigan Surgery
Berg-Sloat Traveling Fellowship (Karolinska Inst,Oxford Univ,Univ Nottingham, Royal National Ortho), Sweden and England Bone Biology and Tumor Immunobiology
Ford Foundation Fellowship in Reproductive Biology, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, Michigan Reproductive Immunobiology
NIH-Post-doctoral Research Fellowship, Yale University School of Medicine, New Haven, CT Oncology and Immunobiology
Board Certification
Orthopaedic Surgery, Board Certified  (1975)

Honors & Recognition

  • Kappa Delta Award for Outstanding Orthopaedic Research
    American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons and Orthopaedic Research Society (1982)
  • Nicholas Andry Award for Outstanding Orthopaedic Research
    Association of Bone and Joint Surgeons (1995)
  • Orthopaedist-of-the-Year
    Connecticut State Orthopaedic Society (2002)
  • Wayne O Southwick Teaching Award
    Yale Department of Orthopaedics and Rehabilitation (1993)
  • William A. Hark Visiting Professor
    University of Illinois (2000)
  • Distinguished Service Award
    American Association of Tissue Banks (1996)
  • Presidential Guest Speaker
    British Orthopaedic Research Society (1984)
  • Distinguished Achievement Award
    University of Michigan Medical Alumni Association (2008)
  • Gold Medal and Rubio Memorial Lecturer
    Spanish Orthopaedic Society (1989)
  • President
    American Association of Tissue Banks (1983)
  • MRC Visiting Professor
    University of Calgary (1996)
  • President
    American Council on Transplantation (1984)
  • Honorary Member
    Hellenic Association of Orthopaedic Surgery (1999)
  • President
    Orthopaedic Research Society (1994)
  • President
    Academic Orthopaedic Society (1995)
  • President
    Association of Bone and Joint Surgeons (2001)
  • President
    American Orthopaedic Association (2010)
  • Julius Neviaser Memorial Lectureship
    Washington Hospital Center (1984)
  • Peter Kiewit Lecturer
    Eisenhower Medical Center (1987)
  • Robert A. Robinson Visiting Professor
    Maryland Orthpaedic Association (1992)
  • Presidential Guest Speaker
    Michigan Orthopaedic Association (1993)
  • R. Beverly Raney Visiting Professor
    University of North Carolina (1994)
  • K. Mallory Visiting Professor
    Ohio State University (1996)
  • Carroll Silver Visiting Professor
    Brown University (1996)
  • Arthur A. Thribodeau Visiting Professor
    Tufts University (1997)
  • Patrick Kelly Visiting Professor
    Mayo clinic (1997)
  • C. Howard Hatcher Visiting Professor
    Stanford University (1989)
  • Honorary Member
    Veterinary Orthopaedic Society (1999)
  • Jacque Jenny Lecturer
    Veterinary Orthopaedic Society (1999)
  • William A. Hark Visiting Professor
    University of Illinois (2000)
  • William A. Hark Visiting Professor
    Loyola University (2002)
  • William A. Hark Visiting Professor
    University of Michigan (2002)
  • Jeanette Wilkins Memorial Lecturer
    University of Southern California (2004)
  • Fischer-Owen Lecturer
    University of Louisville (2005)
  • Edward T. Smith Visiting Professor
    University of Texas (Houston) (2006)

Professional Service

  • Chair (Interim), National Institutes of Health (2002 - 2003)
  • Chair, American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons (2001 - 2002)
  • Member, National Institutes of Health (2001)
  • Member, Orthopaedic Research and Education Foundation (2000 - 2005)
  • Member, Journal of the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons (2000 - psnt)
  • Member, Journal Spine (200 - psnt)
  • Member, National Institutes of Health (1998 - 2002)
  • Member, Food and Drug Administration (1996 - 1997)
  • Member, Arthritis Association (1996 - 1997)
  • Vice Chair, National Institutes of Health (1994)
  • Chair, National Institutes of Health (1994 - 1995)
  • Member, Journal of Orthopaedic Research (1994 - 2006)
  • Member, The Cancer Journal (1994 - 2007)
  • Chair, NIAMS, National Institutes of Health (1993 - 1995)
  • Chair (1993-95), National Institutes of Health (1991 - 1995)
  • Member, National Institutes of Health (1986 - 1989)
  • Deputy Editor (2004-Present), Clinical Orthopaedics and Related Research (1986 - psnt)
  • Member, Journal of Bone and Joint Surgery (1981 - 1988)
  • Member, International Atomic Energy Agency (1976)

Edit Profile