Faculty Teaching Awards

Nancy Stanwood, MD, MPH, FACOG, FSFP

APGO Excellence in Teaching Award

This award honors one outstanding academic faculty member for his or her dedication to teaching students about women’s health. The 2016 recipient was Nancy Stanwood, MD, MPH. Nancy L. Stanwood, MD, MPH joined Yale in 2011 as an Associate Professor and Section Chief of Family Planning. Born and raised in Connecticut, she graduated magna cum laude from Brown University and graduated from the University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine. She completed her Obstetrics and Gynecology residency at University of Michigan and the Robert Wood Johnson Clinical Scholars Program fellowship at the University of North Carolina, where she also earned her MPH.

Before coming to Yale School of Medicine, Dr. Stanwood was at the University of Rochester School of Medicine & Dentistry. During her ten years there, she successfully built and directed the Family Planning service including securing the Kenneth J. Ryan Residency Training Program grant. She is an enthusiastic teacher and among her awards is the prestigious National Faculty Award from the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, Council on Resident Education in Obstetrics and Gynecology.

Dr. Stanwood’s research interests include the underuse of intrauterine devices and prevention of teen pregnancies. She is a dedicated advocate for her patients and serves on the Board of Physicians for Reproductive Health, a national organization dedicated to sound science in reproductive health policy.


Lee Buxton Award

This award honors one outstanding academic community member for his or her dedication to teaching students. The 2016 recipient of this award was Sean M. Flaherty, MD, Ph.D., F.A.C.O.G. Dr. Flaherty graduated from Tufts University and pursued his graduate education at the University of Vermont, where a Ph.D was conferred upon him in 1997 from the Department of Microbiology and Molecular Genetics. He simultaneously acquired his M.D in 1999 from the University of Vermont’s School of Medicine.

Dr. Flaherty has been affiliated with Yale School of Medicine Department of Obstetrics, Gynecology & Reproductive Sciences, in New Haven, Connecticut since 2002 where he did his residency, and then as a community physician since completing his residency at Yale in 2006.

Dr. Flaherty received a number of awards and honors, such as: Yale University School of Medicine excellence in teaching award in 2007; Yale University School of Medicine Department of Obstetrics & Gynecology Top Ten Resident Educators and Top Ten Medical School Educators, both in 2006. He received the AAGL Laparoscopic Award in 2003, as well as, the SLS Outstanding Laparoendoscopic Resident Surgeon Award in 2003, among many others.

Dr. Flaherty has Professional Memberships in the American College of Obstetrics and Gynecology, American Association of Gynecologic Laparoscopy, American Institute of Ultrasound Medicine, Connecticut State Medical Society, New Haven Obstetrics and Gynecology Society as Secretary and Treasurer, and now President. He also holds current positions at Yale New Haven Hospital Department of Women and Children, and is on the Clinical Quality Assurance Review Board, along with many other hospital committees. Dr. Flaherty is also diplomat of the American Board of Obstetrics and Gynecology.

He has publications in the National Academy of Sciences and has spoken at the Minimally Invasive Robotic Association Conference, among many others.