Science prizes for the 21st century, the Kavli Prizes recognize scientists for their seminal advances in three research areas: neuroscience, nanoscience and astrophysics. 

The Kavli Prize in Neuroscience

The Kavli Prize in Neuroscience is awarded for outstanding achievement in advancing our knowledge and understanding of the brain and nervous system, including molecular neuroscience, cellular neuroscience, systems neuroscience, neurogenetics, developmental neuroscience, cognitive neuroscience, computational neuroscience and related facets of the brain and nervous system.

The Kavli Prize in Neuroscience has twice been awarded to Yale University researchers:

About the Kavli Prizes

Established in 2008, the Kavli Prizes are presented in cooperation with the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, the Norwegian Ministry of Education and Research, and the Norwegian Ministry of Foreign Affairs. The prizes are awarded at a ceremony in Oslo, Norway, followed by a symposium honoring the laureates.

The Kavli Prizes are administered by the Norwegian Academy of Sciences and Letters. The Norwegian Academy organizes Prize selection committees comprised of distinguished international scientists recommended by the Chinese Academy of Sciences, the French Academy of Sciences, the Max Planck Society, the Norwegian Academy of Sciences and Letters, the U.S. National Academy of Sciences and The Royal Society of the U.K. After completing their reviews, the review committees' selections are put forward to the Academy for confirmation. The review process and the selection of Kavli Prize recipients are independent of The Kavli Foundation and the Kavli Institutes. For general information about the Kavli Prize, click here.

President Barack Obama

President Barack Obama talks with U.S. recipients of the 2010 Kavli Prize in the Oval Office, June 6, 2011. (Official White House Photo by Pete Souza)

2014 Kavli Prize Webcast

Watch the Kavli Prize announcements and a special program honoring Fred Kavli and the 2014 laureates.

Call for Nominations

Visit Kavli Prize Nominations for more information.