Marina Picciotto PhD

Charles B. G. Murphy Professor of Psychiatry and Professor in the Child Study Center, of Neurobiology and of Pharmacology; Deputy Chair for Basic Science Research, Dept. of Psychiatry

Biographical Info

Dr. Picciotto joined the Yale faculty in 1995, after completing a postdoctoral fellowship with Jean-Pierre Changeux in the Laboratory of Molecular Biology at the Institut Pasteur in Paris. She earned a Ph.D. in Molecular Neurobiology at The Rockefeller University in New York City in 1992, where she worked in the Laboratory of Molecular and Cellular Neuroscience under Paul Greengard. She received a B.S. degree in biological sciences from Stanford University, Stanford, California, in 1985.

Dr. Picciotto serves on the Scientific Council of the National Institute on Drug Abuse and is elected Treasurer of the Society for Neuroscience. She was a Senior Editor of the Journal of Neuroscience from 2006-2012 and is currently Handling Editor of the Journal of Nicotine and Tobacco Research and the Journal of Neurochemistry. She is a past member of the Neurobiology of Motivated Behavior NIH Study Section. In 2000 she was awarded the Presidential Early Career Award in Science and Engineering by President Clinton and in 2007, she was honored with the Jacob P. Waletzky Memorial Award for Innovative Research in Drug Addiction and Alcoholism by the Society for Neuroscience. She was elected to the Institute of Medicine in 2012.

Education & Training

Stanford University (1985)
Rockefeller University (1992)

Honors & Recognition

  • Jacob P. Waletzky Memorial Award for Innovative Research in Drug Addiction and Alcohol Research
    The Society for Neuroscience (2007)
  • Human Frontiers Science Foundation 10th Anniversary Award
    Human Frontiers Science Foundation (1999)
  • Elected AAAS Fellow
    American Association for the Advancement of Science (2014)
  • Elected to Institute of Medicine
  • Foster Bam Independent Investigator Award
    NARSAD (2004)
  • Wiersma Visiting Professor
    California Institute of Technology (2004)
  • Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers
    White House (2000)

Professional Service

  • Chair of Basic Science Committee, Society for Research on Nicotine and Tobacco (2009 - 2012)
  • Handling Editor, Nicotine & Tobacco Research (2006 - 2012)
  • Program Committee Member (Chair 2009), Society for Neuroscience (2005 - 2010)
  • Editorial Board Member, Journal of Neurophysiology (2004 - 2009)
  • Handling Editor, Neuroscience Letters (2004 - 2008)
  • Study Section Member, NIH study section: Neurobiology of Motivated Behavior (2003 - 2007)
  • Editorial Board Member, Journal of Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics (2000 - 2005)
  • Treasurer, Society for Neuroscience (11/18/2014 - 11/18/2015)
  • Councilor, Society for Neuroscience (11/01/2010 - 11/01/2014)
  • Handling Editor, Journal of Neurochemistry (09/01/2013 - 09/01/2016)
  • Editorial Board Member, Journal of Translational Neuroscience (09/01/2009 - 09/01/2015)
  • Councilor, National Institute on Drug Abuse (04/01/2011 - 01/01/2014)
  • Senior Editor, The Journal of Neuroscience (02/01/2006 - 03/01/2012)
  • Handling Editor, Psychopharmacology (01/01/2015 - 01/01/2018)

Edit Profile